IPL Indian Premier League News

Indian Premier League (IPL) – The Indian Premier League or the IPL is the most popular and successful T20 league in the world. It was founded in 2007 and the inaugural edition was played in 2008. The tournament is organised by the BCCI. At present, ten city-based franchise teams participate in the league.

In the first season, eight teams had participated in the tournament. Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural edition by beating Chennai Super Kings in the final. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are the most successful teams in the competition, having won the IPL five times. The only other team to win the competition more than once is Kolkata Knight Riders.

Indian Premier League (IPL) Team list:

At present, ten teams play in the IPL. Of those, seven teams are playing in the competition right from the inaugural season while Sunrisers Hyderabad started playing in 2013. In 2022, the BCCI added two new teams to the competition – Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants.

IPL team list:

Team City State Home ground Debut
Chennai Super Kings Chennai Tamil Nadu M. A. Chidambaram Stadium 2008
Delhi Capitals New Delhi Delhi Arun Jaitley Stadium 2008
Gujarat Titans Ahmedabad Gujarat Narendra Modi Stadium 2022
Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata West Bengal Eden Gardens 2008
Lucknow Super Giants Lucknow Uttar Pradesh BRSABV Ekana Stadium 2022
Mumbai Indians Mumbai Maharashtra Wankhede Stadium 2008
Punjab Kings Mohali Punjab Inderjit Singh Bindra Stadium 2008
Rajasthan Royals Jaipur Rajasthan Sawai Mansingh Stadium 2008
Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore Karnataka M. Chinnaswamy Stadium 2008
Sunrisers Hyderabad Hyderabad Telangana Rajiv Gandhi Stadium 2013

List of defunct teams:

Team City State Home ground Debut Dissolved
Deccan Chargers Hyderabad Telangana Rajiv Gandhi Stadium 2008 2012
Kochi Tuskers Kerala Kochi Kerala Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium 2011 2011
Pune Warriors India Pune Maharashtra Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium 2011 2013
Rising Pune Supergiant Pune Maharashtra Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium 2016 2018
Gujarat Lions Rajkot Gujarat Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium 2016 2018

Indian Premier League (IPL) Winners list

Rajasthan Royals won the inaugural competition in 2008 before now-defunct Deccan Chargers lifted the title in 2009. In 2010 and 2011, Chennai Super Kings won the tournament and also became the first team to defend the title.

Kolkata Knight Riders and Mumbai Indians won their first IPL title in 2012 and 2013 respectively. Between 2013 and 2020, Mumbai won the title five times. In 2016, Sunrisers Hyderabad won their first IPL title. In 2022, Gujarat Titans became only the second team after Rajasthan Royals to win the competition in their debut season.

Year IPL Winners List Runner up Venue
2008 Rajasthan Royals Chennai Super Kings Mumbai
2009 Deccan Chargers Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg
2010 Chennai Super Kings Mumbai Indians Mumbai
2011 Chennai Super Kings Royal Challengers Bangalore Chennai
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Chennai Super Kings Chennai
2013 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Kings XI Punjab Bangalore
2015 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Kolkata
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad Royal Challengers Bangalore Bangalore
2017 Mumbai Indians Rising Pune Supergiant Hyderabad
2018 Chennai Super Kings Sunrisers Hyderabad Mumbai
2019 Mumbai Indians Chennai Super Kings Hyderabad
2020 Mumbai Indians Delhi Capitals Dubai
2021 Chennai Super Kings Kolkata Knight Riders Dubai
2022 Gujarat Titians Rajasthan Royals Ahmedabad
2023 Chennai Super Kings Gujarat Titians Ahmedabad

Indian Premier League (IPL) Teams with most IPL titles

IPL Team IPL Trophy IPL Winner
Mumbai Indians 5 times 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings 5 times 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021, 2023
Kolkata Knight Riders 2 times 2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad 1 time 2016
Rajasthan Royals 1 time 2008
Deccan Chargers 1 time 2009
Gujarat Titans 1 time 2022

Indian Premier League (IPL) List of winning captains, Man of the Match in final and Player of the Series in each edition

Year Winner Captain Man of the Match Player of the Series
2008 Rajasthan Royals Shane Warne Yusuf Pathan Shane Watson
2009 Deccan Chargers Adam Gilchrist Anil Kumble Adam Gilchrist
2010 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Suresh Raina Sachin Tendulkar
2011 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Murali Vijay Chris Gayle
2012 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Manvinder Bisla Sunil Narine
2013 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Kieron Pollard Shane Watson
2014 Kolkata Knight Riders Gautam Gambhir Manish Pandey Glenn Maxwell
2015 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Rohit Sharma Andre Russell
2016 Sunrisers Hyderabad David Warner Ben Cutting Virat Kohli
2017 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Krunal Pandya Ben Stokes
2018 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Shane Watson Sunil Narine
2019 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Jasprit Bumrah Andre Russell
2020 Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma Trent Boult Jofra Archer
2021 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Faf du Plessis Harshal Patel
2022 Gujarat Titans Hardik Pandya Hardik Pandya Jos Butler
2023 Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni Devon Conway Shubman Gill

Indian Premier League (IPL) Orange Cap winners list:

2008 Shaun Marsh 616 KXIP
2009 Matthew Hayden 572 CSK
2010 Sachin Tendulkar 618 MI
2011 Chris Gayle 608 RCB
2012 Chris Gayle 733 RCB
2013 Michael Hussey 733 CSK
2014 Robin Uthappa 660 KKR
2015 David Warner 562 SRH
2016 Virat Kohli 973 RCB
2017 David Warner 641 SRH
2018 Kane Williamson 735 SRH
2019 David Warner 692 SRH
2020 KL Rahul 670 KXIP
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad 635 CSK
2022 Jos Buttler 863 RR
2023 Shubman Gill 890 GT

Indian Premier League (IPL) Purple Cap Winners list

2008 Sohail Tanvir 22 Rajasthan Royals
2009 RP Singh 23 Deccan Chargers
2010 Pragyan Ojha 21 Deccan Chargers
2011 Lasith Malinga 28 Mumbai Indians
2012 Morne Morkel 25 Delhi Daredevils
2013 Dwayne Bravo 32 Chennai Super Kings
2014 Mohit Sharma 23 Chennai Super Kings
2015 Dwayne Bravo 26 Chennai Super Kings
2016 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 23 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017 Bhuvneshwar Kumar 26 Sunrisers Hyderabad
2018 Andrew Tye 24 Kings XI Punjab
2019 Imran Tahir 26 Chennai Super Kings
2020 Kagiso Rabada 30 Delhi Capitals
2021 Harshal Patel 32 Royal Challengers Bangalore
2022 Yuzvendra Chahal 27 Rajasthan Royals
2023 Mohammed Shami 28 Gujarat Titans

Indian Premier League Cricket FAQs:

Which team won the first IPL?

Rajasthan Royals won the first season of the IPL in 2008. They beat Chennai Super Kings in the final.

Who scored the first century in IPL?

Brendon McCullum holds the record for the first century in IPL. He scored 158* in the very first game of the IPL in 2008 while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Who is the first Indian to score a century in IPL?

Manish Pandey is the first Indian to score an IPL century. He scored a century against now-defunct Deccan Charges in IPL 2009.

Which team is the most successful in IPL?

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most successful team in the history of the IPL. Both the teams have won the tournament five times.