GT vs CSK Match Preview, IPL 2023, Match 1
GT vs CSK Match Preview

Last Update on: March 31st, 2023 at 06:42 pm

GT vs CSK Match Preview: IPL 2023, Match 1. The GT vs CSK match kicks off the IPL 2023 season on March 31. The match starts at 7.30 pm IST. The match will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad which is the home ground for the Titans. GT and CSK are placed in Group B alongside RCB, PBKS, and SRH, MI, KKR, RR, DC, and LSG are placed in Group A.

MS Dhoni will lead the Chennai Super Kings while Hardik Pandya will lead the Gujarat Titans. Gujarat defeated Chennai in both the matches played in IPL 2022. Thus CSK will be eager to get back to winning ways against the defending champions.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Speaking about IPL 2023, it will witness 74 games, and the final is scheduled to take place on May 28. A total of 10 teams are part of IPL 2023 namely- Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Mumbai Indians, Gujarat Titans, Rajasthan Royals, Punjab Kings, Delhi Capitals, Lucknow Super Giants, and Kolkata Knight Riders.

All the teams will play 14 games during the tournament which will include home and away games. Four teams that finish in the top four spots in the points table will qualify for playoffs. The final will be played on May 28.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

All the teams have nominated their captain ahead of the season. KKR were the last to name their skipper for the IPL 2023 campaign. They named Nitish Rana as their skipper in the absence of Shreyas Iyer who will miss the majority of the season with a back injury.

GT vs CSK Match Preview: IPL 2023, Match 1

Gujarat Titans

GT traded Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Lockie Ferguson to KKR. Gurbaz came in as a replacement but did not play a single game for the Titans. Ferguson had a key role to play in Gujrat’s success as he picked up 12 wickets from 13 games bowling with express pace.

The Titans did well to retain the core retaining Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, Rashid Khan, and David Miller. Rahul Tewatia was another player who turned out to be a matchwinner for the side as he played several cameos in IPL 2022.

In IPL 2023 auction, they brought in new names like Kane Williamson, Odean Smith, Josh Little, and KS Bharat who will definitely bolster their playing XI. Their batting looks well organized with Shubman Gill in the form of his life. David Miller and Pandya himself become the batting core of the side.

Mohammed Shami, Rashid Khan, Alzarri Joseph, and Yash Dayal form the bowling core of the group. They have enough Indian spin options in Rahul Tewatia, Jayant Yadav, and R Sai Kishore. Young Afghan spinner Noor Ahmed might just be the surprise package.

Gujarat Titans Squad

Hardik Pandya (c), Shubman Gill, David Miller, Abhinav Manohar, Sai Sudharsan, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Rashid Khan, Rahul Tewatia, Vijay Shankar, Mohammed Shami, Alzarri Joseph, Yash Dayal, Pradeep Sangwan, Darshan Nalkande, Jayant Yadav, R Sai Kishore, Noor Ahmad, Kane Williamson, Odean Smith, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Josh Little, Mohit Sharma

Chennai Super Kings

The success of the franchise will all come down to MS Dhoni’s leadership and the use of his resources. They have a few experienced players on the side as Ajinkya Rahane who has played a lot of IPL cricket for different franchises. Ben Stokes will be their player to watch out for with Moeen Ali and Ravindra Jadeja and Stokes as specialist all-rounders.

There are injury concerns with the young pacer Mukesh Kumar who was such a big part of their little success last year. The franchise finished ninth in IPL 2022 and will look to turn around its fortunes. Rururaj Gaikwad and Devon Conway’s form with the bat will be crucial in this season.

With reports of MS Dhoni’s retirement after IPL 2023, the skipper will have a point to prove. He will be closely eyeing winning another IPL title in his trophy cabinet of four.

Chennai Super Kings Squad

MS Dhoni (c), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ambati Rayudu, Subhranshu Senapati, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Dwaine Pretorius, Mitchell Santner, Ravindra Jadeja, Tushar Deshpande, Mukesh Chowdhary, Matheesha Pathirana, Simarjeet Singh, Deepak Chahar, Prashant Solanki, Maheesh Theekshana, Ajinkya Rahane, Ben Stokes, Shaik Rasheed, Nishant Sidhu, Sisanda Magala, Ajay Mandal, Bhagath Verma

Also Read: IPL 2023: MS Dhoni Symbolically Passes Baton To Ben Stokes In An Interesting Fan Moment

Anshuman Roy

A Hardcore Cricket Enthusiast Having Previously Worked With Cricwizz, Circle of Cricket, Times Now, The Quint, Cricfit and Now With Cricket Addictor.