Virender Sehwag
Virender Sehwag. (Photo: Twitter)

Last Update on: April 2nd, 2023 at 11:39 am

Former Indian cricketer Virender Sehwag shared a funny incident that occurred with his national teammates in the inaugural edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. Virender Sehwag said that the IPL changed the atmosphere between the Indian teammates after they played for different teams in the marquee event.

The much-awaited 16th edition of the IPL kicked off on March 31, and defending champions Gujarat Titans picked up where they left off. The Hardik Pandya-led team won by five wickets against the four-time IPL champion CSK at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The Punjab Kings and Lucknow Supergiants opened their accounts on Saturday.

Also read: IPL 2023: Steve Smith Is The Kind Of Player They Want – Sanjay Manjrekar On Kane Williamson’s Replacement In Gujarat Titans

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Virender Sehwag recalled a funny conversation that he had with his former Indian teammates Zaheer Khan, Harbhajan Singh, and Ashish Nehra. Sehwag said that the players used to play for the Indian team but split up and played for different teams.

“When IPL happened, before that you used to play for the Indian team, now those same players got divided and played for different teams. Some played for my team, while some played for other teams. Especially Zaheer Khan, Ashish Nehra, Harbhajan Singh – they were my close friends – we used to say that you have played so much at the nets, come to the match and tumhe to kutte ki maar marunga (will thrash you like a dog),” Sehwag said on Star Sports.

“However, nothing like that happened. Zaheer Khan got me out, then Ashish Nehra and Harbhajan too got me out. But I also hit good innings against them. When IPL came there was a sudden change in an atmosphere where you used to play against your own national teammates,” he added.

Also read: Shakib Al Hasan And Litton Das’ Arrival In IPL 2023 Delayed After They Are Named In Bangladesh Squad For Ireland Test

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

“Public, Delhi mein Delhi ko support karne ke bajaye Tendulkar ko, Dravid ko, Ganguly ko, Dhoni ko, unke liye chillate thhe,” Virender Sehwag said.

Also read: IPL 2023: You Can’t Afford To Put Chances Down – Ricky Ponting Blames His Team’s Sloppy Fielding For The Loss Against LSG

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah