IPL 2022 Auction Date, Time, Players List With PDF Download, Team List, Lucknow And Ahmedabad Players, Rules, And Venue
IPL 2022.

Last Update on: March 25th, 2023 at 04:48 pm

The countdown for IPL 2023 has begun as the tournament is set to commence on March 31 with the opening game between Gujarat Titans and Chennai Super Kings. A total of 10 teams will battle for the title in IPL 2023 and play 74 games among each other.

IPL 2023 will witness some new rules that will make the tournament a little different. These rules will be implemented for the first time in Indian Premier League and fans will see a change in the tournament. Here is the complete list of new rules that will be introduced in IPL 2023.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

IPL 2023: Complete List Of New Rules That Will Be Introduced In The Tournament

1. Impact Player Rule

Axar Patel
PC: iplt20/BCCI

Impact Player Rule is the first big change that will be seen in IPL 2023. With the addition of the impact player rule, teams can use 12 players in a given match. During the toss, every team will name 4 extra players on their list. Out of these 4 players, 1 player can be picked as an impact player. This player can replace one player who is part of the playing XI. A captain cannot be an impact player. Moreover, if a team has 4 overseas players in the playing XI, an impact player cannot be an overseas player.

2. DRS For Wides and No Ball

CSK vs MI: No DRS Available In Tonight's Game Due To "Power Issues" At Wankhede
CSK vs MI: No DRS Available In Tonight’s Game Due To “Power Issues” At Wankhede

Every team will get two DRS in each inning. Earlier, the DRS could only be used for challenging out or not-out decisions. However, in Indian Premier League 2023, DRS calls can be used to challenge wide and no-balls too. This rule was witnessed in the Women’s Premier League 2023 recently.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

3. Players Allowed Outside 30-Yard Circle For Over Delays

IPL 2023: Complete List Of New Rules That Will Be Introduced In The Tournament
Rahul Tewatia GT (Image Credits: IPL)

Every team will have to maintain the over rate in IPL 2023. For instance, every team needs to complete their 20 overs in 90 minutes. If any team is not able to complete 20 overs in 90 minutes, they can only keep 4 fielders instead of 5 outside the 30-yard circle. Hence, every delayed over will see this fielding change, and the bowling team will have to suffer.

Also Read: IPL 2023: “There Are Multiple Strengths, But This Problem Is Standing Out Like A Sore Thumb” – Aakash Chopra On Punjab Kings

4. Captains Will Announce Playing XI After Toss

Sanju Samson, MS Dhoni
Sanju Samson, MS Dhoni. (Photo: IPL)

Another new rule that will be observed in IPL 2023 is that captains can announce their playing XI after the toss. Earlier, captains had to submit their lists of playing XI before the toss. However, captains can now submit their playing XI after the toss, after getting to know if they are batting or bowling first. Every captain will submit a list of 15 players, 11 playing XI and 4 players who can be used as impact players.

5. Penalty Runs For Unfair Movements

Image Credits: Twitter

If the wicketkeeper and fielders are caught with unfair movements after the bowler starts the run-up and the batsman plays the ball, the delivery will be called a dead ball and 5 penalty runs will be awarded to the batting team. This rule will be strictly followed in IPL 2023. The on-field umpires will take the decision for unfair movements by fielders and wicketkeepers.

Also Read: IPL 2023: “I Have Never Seen Him Do This In Any Match…” – Suresh Raina Recalls Seeing MS Dhoni’s Brilliance

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Vikas Singh Derek

Cricket Crazy and Sports Enthusiast. Happy Go Lucky Person. Believes "The Way To Happiness is to be Happy On The Way.