IPL 2023: Virender Sehwag Responds To ‘Best IPL Captain’ Remark Between MS Dhoni And Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni, IPL 2021
Rohit Sharma, MS Dhoni. Image Credits: BCCI

Former Indian opener Virender Sehwag has chosen between MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma to settle the debate for the best IPL captain. Dhoni has led CSK to four IPL titles while Rohit has led MI to five IPL titles.

Both are successful IPL captains in their own rights and are among the most successful players in the IPL as well. Dhoni led CSK to their fourth title in 2021 while Rohit Sharma broke the deadlock of winning the title every odd year by winning back-to-back titles in IPL 2020 and 2021.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

Overall, MS Dhoni has led in 210 IPL games as captain winning 123 and losing 86 games. In the 204 matches where he has led the CSK side, the team has won 121 times with a commendable winning percentage of 59.60. Rohit Sharma has led Mumbai Indians in 143 IPL games winning 79 and losing 60 games. Rohit led Mumbai to IPL final wins in 2013 and 2015 against CSK.

Virender Sehwag Chooses Rohit Sharma Over MS Dhoni

Meanwhile, Sehwag while speaking to Star Sports picked Rohit Sharma ahead of MS Dhoni as his best IPL skipper. He also gave his explanation behind choosing Rohit ahead of Dhoni. The India batting legend feels that Dhoni brought his experience of leading the Indian team in guiding CSK to four IPL titles while Rohit’s journey began with Mumbai before he was made the Indian skipper much later in his career.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 India vs Australia 2023

“The numbers tell you everything. See, MS Dhoni had the experience of captaining the Indian team and then he became the captain of the Chennai Super Kings. Rohit Sharma’s first captaincy stint was with the Mumbai Indians, and from there, his journey to success began. So, that’s why he deserves more credit. Much like Sourav Ganguly, who became the captain of the Indian team and tried new and different things. He played two finals of a World Cup and under his leadership, India became the number one one-day team. That’s why my pick goes to Rohit Sharma,” said Sehwag.”

The IPL 2023 schedule was released earlier this week by the BCCI. The season starts from March 31 with CSK taking on the Gujarat Titans. The final will be played on June 21 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. The season will be played in its traditional home and away format.

Also Read: WPL 2023 – BCCI Announce Schedule For Women’s Premier League as Mumbai Indians Set To Take On Gujarat Giants In Season Opener

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts