India vs New Zealand
Image Source: Twitter

After a disappointing campaign in the ICC T20 World Cup 2021, team India are all set to play a three-match T20 series against New Zealand. The series will mark the start of a new era in Indian Cricket. Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the new captain in T20 cricket, while Rahul Dravid is India’s new head coach.

KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan
Image Source: Twitter

The first T20 international against New Zealand is set to be played on 17th November in Jaipur. India’s former T20 skipper, Virat Kohli has been rested for the series. Besides, the likes of Jasprit Bumrah, M Shami, Ravindra Jadeja, and Hardik Pandya are other notable exclusions.

Delhi capitals batsman, Shreyas Iyer marks his return in the squad alongside Yuzvendra Chahal, while Rahul Chahar and Varun Chakravarthy have been excluded from the squad.

With an eye to prepare a strong squad for the T20 World Cup next year, Venkatesh Iyer and Ruturaj Gaikwad have been included in the squad. With Hardik Pandya not in the mix, Venkatesh Iyer is likely to play all three T20 internationals.

Martin Guptill
Martin Guptill. Credits: Twitter

On the other hand, New Zealand are coming off a successful campaign in the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2021. They went on to reach the finals but would be disappointed to not have won the summit clash. In a big development, Kane Williamson has rested from the three-match T20 series in order to fully focus on the upcoming Test series.

In the absence of Williamson, Tim Southee will lead the unit. Lockie Ferguson is recovering well from his injury and is likely to be fully fit before the start of the first T20I. He will share the fast bowling duties alongside Trent Boult and Tim Southee.

Jimmy Neesham
Image Source: Twitter

Daryl Mitchell and Martin Guptill should open the innings, while the middle-order comprise the likes of Glenn Phillips, Jimmy Neesham, and Tim Siefert. Keeping in mind the sub-continent conditions, the spin duo of Ish Sodhi and Mitchell Santner will have a big role to play. Both has done well against India over the years and it will be interesting to see how they fare this time around.

IND vs NZ Head to Head Records: India’s Head to Head Record vs New Zealand- New Zealand tour of India 2021, 1st T20I

India vs New Zealand
Image Source; Twitter

Teams Head to Head Records: T20 Internationals 

Stats Matches IND Win  NZ Won A
Overall 18 8 9 1
At Sawai Mansingh Cricket Stadium
In the last 5 matches 5 4 1

Successful Head-to-Head Records in 1st Batting vs 2nd Batting:

Innings IND won NZ won
First Batting 5 6
Second Batting 3 3

Teams’ and Players’ Records in Head-to-Head Battles:

(Top players’ stats)

Stats   IND vs NZ   NZ vs IND
 Most runs Rohit Sharma: 352 runs Colin Munro: 426 runs
Highest Individual Score Shikhar Dhawan: 80 Colin Munro: 109*
Best Batting Average Manish Pandey: 106 Brendon McCullum: 130.50
Most Wickets Jasprit Bumrah: 12 wickets Ish Sodhi: 19 wickets
Best economy  rate Suresh Raina: 4.00 Jesse Ryder: 4.17
Best Strike Rate: Kuldeep Yadav: 10.00 Kyle Mills: 9.00