India National Cricket Team
India National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: January 15th, 2023 at 12:58 pm

Prev1 of 3

IND vs NZ: 3 Deserving Indian Players Who Missed Out On The T20 Squad. The New Selection committee led by Chetan Sharma has picked India’s T20I squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand (IND vs NZ). All-rounder Hardik Pandya has been appointed as the captain of the T20I side with senior players including Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul being rested for the series.

Chetan Sharma
Chetan Sharma Photo Credit: (PTI)

The new selection committee was announced a few days ago with Chetan Sharma being retained by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) of the BCCI interviewing more than a dozen of candidates last week. Notably, Jasprit Bumrah is still missing from all the squads announced by the BCCI for the New Zealand series.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Prithvi Shaw makes a return to the T20I team in IND vs NZ matches. Hardik Pandya will continue to lead the T20I side which has a familiar group of players. KL Rahul & Axar Patel were unavailable for New Zealand (IND vs NZ) home series due to family commitments.
Maharashtra’s wicket-keeper batsman Jitesh Sharma has also been formally selected in India’s T20 team for the first time. Earlier, he was added to the team after Sanju Samson was injured during the T20 series against Sri Lanka.
India vs New Zealand (IND vs NZ)
India vs New Zealand (IND vs NZ) (Credits: Twitter)

Kuldeep Yadav who has given amazing performances in recent Test (against Bangladesh) and ODI (against Sri Lanka), has been called up in the T20Is against New Zealand.

India is set to play New Zealand in a three-match ODI and three-match T20 series. The ODI series will commence from 18th January onwards in Hyderabad and will then move to Raipur and Indore on January 21 and 24 respectively.

The T20I series will start on the 27 of January in Ranchi. It will then move to Lucknow and Ahmedabad on January 29 and February 1 respectively for the remaining matches.

IND vs NZ: India’s T20I squad against New Zealand: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

IND vs NZ: 3 Deserving Indian Players Who Missed Out On The T20 Squad

Rajat Patidar

Rajat Patidar
Rajat Patidar. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Rajat Patidar received his maiden ODI call-up to the Indian squad for the three-match ODI series against South Africa.  From being Madhya Pradesh’s leading run-scorer with 713 runs in eight matches in the 2018-19 Ranji Trophy to the lows of IPL 2021, where he could score only 71 runs in four matches for RCB, Rajat Patidar has seen it all.

Rajat Patidar was expected to get married on May 9 after he went unsold in IPL 2022 mega auction following his poor return in the previous season. However, after Luvnith Sisodia was ruled with an injury, he was named as a replacement by RCB (Royal Challengers Bangalore).

As fate had it, he went on to amass 333 runs in seven innings, scoring at 55.50 with a splendid strike rate of 152.75. The 28-year-old slammed an unbeaten 112 off just 54 balls at a strike rate of over 207 for Bangalore against Lucknow in IPL 2022. His breathtaking knock was studded with 12 fours and 7 sixes. The deserving Indian batter missed out on selection for the New Zealand T20Is in 2023.

Prev1 of 3