IND vs NZ Head-to-Head In T20Is, 2nd T20I, 2023

IND vs NZ 2nd T20I 2023
Photo Credit: (BCCI/Twitter)

India and New Zealand go head to head in the second T20I in Lucknow on January 29, Sunday. The Kiwis are leading the series 1-0 after winning the first T20I in Ranchi by 21 runs. India needs to win the second T20I to keep the series alive. Earlier India whitewashed the Kiwis in the ODI series.  The T20I series continues the preparations for both teams for the ODI World Cup later this year. 

Both teams have named the squads for the T20I series. India will be led by Hardik Pandya while New Zealand will be led by Mitchell Santner. All the senior Indian players are not a part of the T20I squad. Prithvi Shaw is back in India’s T20I squad after his consistent performances in domestic cricket. Most of the players who played in the T20I series against Sri Lanka have been retained for this tour. 

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score Australia tour of India 2023

New Zealand National Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team. Pic Credits: Twitter.

New Zealand have announced its T20 squad for the series against India. Tom Southee and Kane Williamson have been rested for the T20I series with Mitchell Santner leading the Blackcaps for the series. Michael Rippon, Dane Cleaver, and Ben Lister have been added to the Kiwi T20I squad. Tom Latham who led the Kiwis in the ODIs is not a part of the T20I side as well.

Daryl Mitchell
Daryl Mitchell. Pic Credits: Twitter.

The Kiwis scored a competitive 176/6 with the bat. Fifties from Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell helped them reach that total. Arshdeep Singh‘s 20th over also helped them in the process as Mitchell took 27 off his over. The Indian pacer has been guilty of bowling way too many no-balls since the T20I series against Sri Lanka. 

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (Image Credits: Twitter)

India lost wickets at regular intervals in the chase. Suryakumar Yadav (47), Hardik Pandya (21), and Washington Sundar (50) tried their best with the bat but fell short of the score. Sundar took two wickets besides scoring the runs with the bat. After the first T20I defeat, The Men in Blue might make some changes to their playing XI in the second T20I.

Speaking about head to heads in T20Is, India and New Zealand have played 23 T20Is before this series with India winning 12 and the Kiwis winning 10 games. India won the last T20I series between the two sides in November 2022.

India vs New Zealand Head-to-Head Overall Stats

Format Test ODI T20I
Matches Played 62 116 23
India Won 22 58 12
New Zealand Won 13 50 10

IND vs NZ Head-to-Head In T20Is, 2nd T20I, 2023

IND vs NZ 1st T20I 2023
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Matches Played – 22

IND Won – 12

NZ Won- 9

Most Runs For India- Rohit Sharma (511)

Most Runs For New Zealand – Colin Munro (426)

Most Wickets For India- Jasprit Bumrah (12)

Most Wickets For New Zealand- Ish Sodhi (22)

India vs New Zealand Head To Head In T20I Matches

Matches Played 23
India Won 12
New Zealand Won 10
Tied 1
No Result 0
%IND 54.54
%NZ 43.47
First Played  2007
Last Played 2023

India vs New Zealand Head To Head In ODI Matches

Matches Played 116
India Won 58
New Zealand Won 50
Tied 1
No Result 7
%IND 50
%NZ 43.10
First Played 1975
Last Played 2023

India vs New Zealand Head To Head In Test Matches

Matches Played 62
India Won 22
Sri Lanka Won 13
Tied 0
Draw 27
%IND 47.82
%NZ 15.21
First Played 1955
Last Played 2021

Also Read: IND vs NZ: Watch – Hardik Pandya Sends Back Finn Allen As The Batsman Chops Onto His Stumps In The 3rd ODI At Indore

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts