India vs New Zealand Match Preview, 1st ODI

India vs New Zealand, Rohit Sharma, IND vs NZ,
India vs New Zealand (Credits: Twitter)

After the ODI series win against Sri Lanka, Team India are all set to face New Zealand in a three-match ODI and T20I series. The series kicks off with the first ODI in Hyderabad on January 18. The series continues the preparations for both teams for the ODI World Cup later this year. 

Both teams have announced their ODI squads. Rohit Sharma will lead the Men in Blue while Tom Latham will lead the Kiwis. Most of the players who played in the ODI series against Sri Lanka have been named for the series against New Zealand

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score Australia tour of India 2023

New Zealand
Tom Latham and Kane Williamson(Credits: Twitter/ICC)

For the Kiwis, most of the players who played in the series against Pakistan have been retained for the India tour. Regular skipper Kane Williamson has decided to opt out of the tour.

New Zealand last played an ODI series against India in November 2022. They won the first ODI in Auckland. The next two in Hamilton and Christchurch were washed out due to rain. The upcoming series will once again spice up the rivalry between both sides.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Rohit Sharma-Kane Williamson
Photo Credit: (Twitter)


Both sides have played 113 ODIs between themselves with India winning 55 games and the Kiwis winning 50. Bilateral series between both teams have been always closely contested and the upcoming series is also expected to be the same. 

India vs New Zealand Match Preview, 1st ODI


Shreyas Iyer (Getty Images)
Shreyas Iyer (Getty Images)

Team India will be missing Shreyas Iyer who has been ruled out with a back injury. He played all three matches against Sri Lanka before picking up the injury. Rajat Patidar has been named as his replacement.

The absence of Iyer means Suryakumar Yadav might have to make the most of his opportunities at number four. India will also be missing the services of Axar Patel and KL Rahul who are unavailable from the New Zealand series for personal reasons. 

Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan
Rohit Sharma, Ishan Kishan. (Photo: BCCI)

The absence of KL Rahul opens up an opportunity for Ishan Kishan to be given all three games. There are reports that Yuzvendra Chahal has not recovered completely from his shoulder injury that kept him out from the last two games against Sri Lanka. With Mohammed Siraj and Umran Malik, the bowling attack looks good.

The focus will also be on Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. While Rohit is yet to get back his form, Kohli is well and truly back as he notched up three centuries in his last four ODI innings. 

India’s Updated ODI Squad

 Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, KS Bharat (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Rajat Patidar, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik.

New Zealand 

New Zealand National Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team (PC-AP)

New Zealand are fresh from their 2-1 ODI series win against Pakistan in Pakistan. Regular skipper Kane Williamson has been rested from the series. Tom Latham will lead the side in the ODIs. He recently hit his ODI career best of 145* against India. In the absence of Kane Williamson, he along with Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips will be the key batters for his side. 

Tim Southee will lead the bowling attack along with Lockie Ferguson, Doug Bracewell, Blair Tickner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, and Mitchell Santner. Meanwhile, Henry Nicholls is the front-runner to replace Williamson in the XI. The side has plenty of options in both departments and will use them wisely.

New Zealand Squad 

Tom Latham (Captain), Henry Nicholls, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Mitchell Santner, Finn Allen, Devon Conway, Glenn Phillips, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Doug Bracewell, Blair Tickner, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi

Also Read: IND vs NZ: 3 Indian Players Who Can Retire From T20Is After New Zealand Series

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts