New Zealand National Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team (PC-AP)

Last Update on: January 28th, 2023 at 11:13 am

Prev1 of 11

India vs New Zealand: NZ Playing 11 for IND, 1st T20I, 2023. India whitewashed New Zealand 3-0 in India vs New Zealand ODI series. Now, the two teams will gear up for the three-match T20I series beginning Friday, 27th January in Ranchi starting at 7 pm.

India vs New Zealand
India vs New Zealand Photo Credit: (Twitter)

The Kiwis have never beaten India at home in a T20I series. With many of the home side’s regulars not featuring in the series, New Zealand might fancy their chances. However, Team India is always a formidable opponent at home and will start as favorites for the series despite being without rested players like Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and KL Rahul.

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023

Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul
Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul Photo Credit: (ANI)

India will have plenty of fresh faces for the T20I series while ODI regulars Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli have been excluded. All-rounder Hardik Pandya, who has been in excellent form with the bat and ball, will again lead the T20 side.

Prithvi Shaw has been selected to play for India after more than one and a half years. The aggressive opening batter has been in incredible form in domestic cricket and is likely to be given a chance. Suryakumar Yadav will, of course, be the batter to watch out for India. He has been one of the best T20 batters in the world and slammed a breathtaking 112* off 67 balls against Sri Lanka only earlier this month-his 3rd T20I ton in only 45 T20Is where he averages 46.41 and has a strike rate of 180.34.

IPL 2023 | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Prithvi Shaw
Prithvi Shaw (Image Credit: Twitter)

Rahul Tripathi may have played just two T20I matches for India, but he’s shown he can be an enforcer at No.3. Deepak Hooda gets another opportunity to prove his worth as a finisher.

India’s pace bowling department will largely revolve around left-arm pacer Arshdeep Singh (14 wickets in the last 9 matches at an economy of 8.93), Umran Malik (7 wickets in the last 3 T20Is at an economy of 9.63), and Hardik Pandya (7 wickets in last 10 matches at 7.43).

Hardik Pandya has done well with the new ball this season and is expected to bowl at least 2-3 overs at the start. Left-arm wrist spinner Kuldeep Yadav has been in terrific form of late. He has picked up 11 wickets in the 5 ODIs he has played this year in India and has regularly troubled the batters. Tackling him will be a change for the Kiwi batters.

India Predicted Playing XI:- Prithvi Shaw, Shubman Gill, Ishan Kishan (wk), Rahul Tripathi, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (c), Deepak Hooda, Shivam Mavi, Kuldeep Yadav, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh

New Zealand’s tour of India hasn’t gone according to plan so far. After being blanked out in the ODI series, the Kiwis now have the opportunity to make amends in the shortest international format. They have the right players to do the job too.

Finn Allen managed only 40 runs in India vs New Zealand ODIs, but he’s a dangerous T20 batter and should do better here. He has scored 1 hundred and 2 fifties in T20Is in 25 innings at a strike rate of 163.40. Devon Conway, who scored a wonderful 138 off 100 balls in the 3rd ODI against India, will be looking to carry over his form to the T20Is. He has the experience of playing on these pitches thanks to the IPL and will be New Zealand’s batting mainstay.

Devon Conway
Devon Conway. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Another batter to keep an eye out for in India vs New Zealand T20I series is Glenn Phillips. The powerful hard-hitter has collected 356 runs in the last 10 matches at an average of 39.56 and a strike rate of 167.92.

In the absence of Trent Boult and Tim Southee, the Kiwis will be relying on Lockie Ferguson to deliver the goods. The right-arm fast bowler can bowl regularly over 140 km/ph and has picked up 41 wickets in 28 T20I matches at an economy of 7.36.

Mitchell Santner
Mitchell Santner. Image-Twitter

Captain Mitchell Santner (11 wickets in the last 8 matches at an economy of 6.71) will be handy on these surfaces with his left-arm spin. Leg-spinner Ish Sodhi (10 wickets in the last 10 matches at an economy of 7.79) will also be crucial to New Zealand’s chances as he can pick up crucial wickets in the middle overs in India vs New Zealand T20Is.

New Zealand Predicted Playing XI: Finn Allen, Devon Conway (wk), Mark Chapman, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Bracewell, Mitchell Santner (c), Lockie Ferguson, Henry Shipley, Blair Tickner, Ish Sodhi

Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma have been rested from India vs New Zealand T20I series and Hardik Pandya is leading the squad in the absence of the senior players. Hardik Pandya has been successful in this job so far and would like to achieve another feat at home.

Shubman Gill
Shubman Gill (PC-AP)

On the other hand, Shubman Gill would like to continue his terrific form in the upcoming India vs New Zealand series. The right-hander scored 360 runs in the One-Day International series which is the joint highest by any player in a three-match ODI series.

Hardik Pandya has a few exciting young players at his disposal such as Rahul Tripathi, Shubman Gill, Shivam Mavi, Jitesh Sharma, Mukesh Kumar, and Prithvi Shaw. All these players have shown class in domestic tournaments or a few recent international ODI or T20I matches, and now it is about translating that in the forthcoming India vs New Zealand T20Is.

Ruturaj Gaikwad
Ruturaj Gaikwad (Image Credit: Twitter)

India opener Ruturaj Gaikwad is ruled out of the entire India vs New Zealand T20I series after suffering a wrist injury. He has reported to the National Cricket Academy on Tuesday. Apart from Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer and Sanju Samson are also missing the India vs New Zealand T20I series with injuries. Shreyas Iyer is currently at the NCA for a back injury. Sanju Samson is in Kochi undergoing physiotherapy for his knee injury.

India’s T20I squad against New Zealand: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad (ruled out of T20I series due to pain in his right wrist), Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar.

Left-arm medium pacer Ben Lister has been called up to the New Zealand T20I squad for the three-match T20I series in India that starts later this month. With Kane Williamson and Tim Southee returning home following the Pakistan Tests, Mitchell Santner will lead the side. Michael Rippon and Dane Cleaver are the other comparatively unpopular faces in a squad.

New Zealand T20I squad against India: Mitchell Santner (C), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Dane Cleaver, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

India vs New Zealand: NZ Playing 11 for IND, 1st T20I, 2023

Finn Allen

New Zealand's Finn Allen (Photo- Twitter/ICC)
New Zealand’s Finn Allen (Photo- Twitter/ICC)

Finn Allen scored only 40 runs averaging 13.33 in 3 ODIs against India.  Finn Allen has played 25 T20Is, amassing 567 runs averaging 22.68 with 2 fifties and a ton. He is another keeping option apart from Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips in upcoming India vs New Zealand T20Is.

Prev1 of 11