Twitter Reacts As India Register A Nervy 6-wicket Win In Low-scoring Lucknow T20I To Level The Series vs New Zealand
Twitter Reacts As India Register A Nervy 6-wicket Win In Low-scoring Lucknow T20I To Level The Series vs New Zealand

Last Update on: January 29th, 2023 at 10:52 pm

The Hardik Pandya-led India National Cricket Team and the Mitchell Santner-led New Zealand National Cricket Team went head-to-head in the second T20I of the three-match series at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow on Sunday, January 29.

India National Cricket Team defeated New Zealand National Cricket Team by 6 wickets in the match to level the series 1-1. The series decider will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad on Wednesday, February 1.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

The coin landed in the favour of Mitchell Santner and the New Zealand National Cricket Team opted to bat first in the match. The BlackCaps fielded an unchanged playing XI, but the Men In Blue made a change to the playing XI, including Yuzvendra Chahal in the place of Umran Malik.

IND vs NZ 2nd T20I 2023
Photo Credit: (BCCI/Twitter)

Hardik Pandya opened the attack against the Kiwi openers – Devon Conway and Finn Allen – and conceded 6 runs in the over. Washington Sundar bowled a 4-run second over and Pandya bowled an 11-run third over.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Yuzvendra Chahal cleaned up Finn Allen for 11 in the fourth over and delivered a wicket-maiden while Washington Sundar dismissed Devon Conway for 11 in the next over, conceding 8 runs. In the 6th over, Chahal gave away just 4 runs and at the end of the powerplay, the BlackCaps were at 33/2.

Then, Deepak Hooda dismissed Glenn Phillips for 5 in the 7th over and Kuldeep Yadav dismissed Daryl Mitchell for 8 in the 10th over. After 10 overs, New Zealand were at 48/4.

Image Credits: Twitter

In the last 10 overs, the Kiwi batters continued struggling against the Indian bowling unit and they were restricted to 99/8 in 20 overs. Skipper Santner was the top-scorer for his side with 19 runs under his belt.

Talking about bowlers, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Hooda and Hardik Pandya picked up one wicket each while Arshdeep Singh bagged two wickets.

Chasing the target, Shubman Gill scored 11 runs off 9 balls, including 2 fours, before being cleaned up by Michael Bracewell in the 4th over. Ishan Kishan, on the other hand, scored 19 runs off 32 balls, with 2 fours, before getting run out in the 9th over.

Rahul Tripathi, meanwhile, got dismissed by Ish Sodhi in the 11th over and he scored 13 runs off 18 balls, including 1 four. Washington Sundar was the next one to fall as he got run out for 10 in the 15th over.

In the end, the equation came down to 6 runs off the last over, which was bowled by Blair Tickner. The Men In Blue needed 3 runs off 2 balls when Suryakumar Yadav hit a four to take India past the finish line with one ball remaining. Captain Hardik Pandya scored 15* runs while vice-captain Suryakumar Yadav scored 26* runs.

Suryakumar Yadav
Suryakumar Yadav (PC-Getty Images)

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To India vs New Zealand 2nd T20I:


Also Read: Twitter Reacts As Indian Women’s Team Wins Inaugural U-19 T20 World Cup

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah



Sonanchal GautamAssistant Content Manager

Sonanchal Gautam is the Assistant Content Manager at Cricketaddictor. He is a professional Wrestling and Hip-hop enthusiast.