India vs South Africa
India vs South Africa (Image Credits: BCCI)

India vs South Africa-Head To Head Records, 1st ODI. India (IND) will cross the swords with South Africa (SA) in the first ODI of three-match series on October 06 (Thursday) at Ekana Sports City Stadium in Ardonamau, Uttar Pradesh (Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium, Lucknow). The match will kick-start at 01:30 PM IST.

After a disappointing Asia Cup 2022, Team India have returned with a bang. The two consecutive T20I series vs Australia and South Africa have seen India win handsomely. The bilateral series has always been Team India’s strength. But the upcoming ODI series vs South Africa promises to be a more competitive affair.

India won the T20I series 2-1 and have momentum. The ODI squad will have different look as Shikhar Dhawan will lead the side. For South Africa, this three-match ODI series is vital as ICC Super League Points are at stake. They are currently languishing at the 11th spot and in danger of not qualifying for the 50-over World Cup directly.

The competition is even more intense as a second-string Indian team shall be playing a full-strength South African team. The second-string Indian team have won the last two ODI series against West Indies and Zimbabwe. But the South Africa series promises to be a tougher contest as they would be up some of the best bowlers and batters in the business. The 3-match ODI series begins on October 6th with the final match being played on October 11.

India VS South Africa (Image Credits: Twitter)
India VS South Africa (Image Credits: Twitter)

Shikhar Dhawan is leading India in the absence of India’s 2022 T20I World Cup-bound team. While Shikhar Dhawan’s team play 1st ODI tomorrow, Rohit Sharma-led Indian team will fly for Perth on the same day. It is important to note India have announced a second-string squad for the ODI series.

Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan
Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan. (Photo: Twitter)

Most of the players, who featured in the T20I series, will fly to Australia and prepare for the 2022 T2oI World Cup. Meanwhile, some of them like pacer Deepak Chahar, batter Shreyas Iyer, and spinner Ravi Bishnoi who are in the World Cup as standbys will play the ODIs. They will fly only after the ODI series.

Rajat Patidar
Rajat Patidar. (Photo: Twitter)

The 16-member squad for the ODI series was only announced on Sunday. Hence, the Shikhar Dhawan-led side will have some new faces in the squad, including Rajat Patidar and Mukesh Kumar. The duo has been in fine form of late, and their recent performances have been duly rewarded. There is also a possibility that the RCB-Royal Challengers Bangalore’s superstars like Shahbaz Ahmed and Rajat Patidar could make their debuts for India in this series.

Batter Rahul Tripathi and all-rounder Shahbaz Ahmed are some of the uncapped players in the squad. Rahul Tripathi earned his maiden national call-up during the T20I series against Ireland in June. Shahbaz Ahmed was a part of the squad for the South Africa T20Is. Both were also part of the Indian team in the Zimbabwe ODI tour but didn’t get a game. Rajat Patidar’s selection is rewarded for his impressive run of scores across formats this year.

Janneman Malan
Janneman Malan Image Credit Twitter : ICC

For South Africa, it will be about trying to win as many games as possible from here. Temba Bavuma said a few new players will come into the ODI squad and these players will try to bring some fresh energy. Opening batter  Janneman Malan is in good form, and so is Andile Phehlukwayo.  From the T20I squad, they have left out Tristan Stubbs and Rilee Rossouw to bring in Andile Phehlukwayo and Janneman Malan.

Ravi Bishnoi
Ravi Bishnoi. (Photo Credit: BCCI)

India, on the other hand, has not picked a single player from their T20I World Cup squad, though three of their four standby players – Ravi Bishnoi, Deepak Chahar, and Shreyas Iyer – will play in the ODIs. They will be led by Shikhar Dhawan, while the squad will feature seven uncapped players, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Shahbaz Ahmed, Rahul Tripathi, Rajat Patidar, and Mukesh Kumar – though the first three have played T20Is for India.

IND vs SA Probable Playing XIs

IND: Shikhar Dhawan, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Rajat Patidar, Ishan Kishan/ Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Shardul Thakur, Deepak Chahar, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan, Mohammed Siraj

SA: Janneman Malan, Quinton de Kock, Temba Bavuma, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Andile  Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Wayne Parnell, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi

India vs South Africa-Head To Head Records, 1st ODI

India and South Africa have faced each other in 87 matches in ODI. Out of these 87 games, India have won 35 whereas South Africa have come out victorious on 49 occasions. 3 matches ended without a result. The legendary former Indian opening batter Sachin Tendulkar has amassed the most 2001 runs in head-to-head matches whereas, for Proteas, Jacques Kallis is the leading run getter with 1535 runs.

Sachin Tendulkar celebrating the first-ever 200 not out AFP
Sachin Tendulkar celebrating the first-ever 200 not out AFP Image-AFP

Sachin Tendulkar became the first-ever batsman to make a double century in the 50-over format. On February 24, 2010, Sachin Tendulkar went on to create history by breaching a landmark that was unthinkable for a very long time. Batting first, Sachin Tendulkar’s 200 not out had propelled India to a massive total of 401 for 3 in 50 overs.

Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers Image: AP
Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers Image: AP

Sachin Tendulkar registered the first double hundred in ODIs against Proteas and his 200* is the highest individual score. For Proteas, Quinton de Kock’s 135 is the highest individual score. Proteas batters AB de Villers and Quinton de Kock have scored most 6 tons while Sachin Tendulkar has 5 tons besides his name.

Anil Kumble
Anil Kumble. Image-AFP

In the bowling department, Proteas pacer Shaun Pollock has the most 48 scalps while for India, Anil Kumble has 46 scalps. Sunil Joshi has the best figures of 5/6 while Allan Donald had registered bowling figures of 5/29.