India vs South Africa 2nd ODI
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I. India will meet the Proteas on 2nd October in the 2nd T20I at 7 pm in Barsapara Cricket Stadium (Dr Bhupen Hazarika Cricket Stadium), Guwahati. India is eying their first T20 series win against South Africa at home. India beat South Africa by 8 wickets in the inaugural game of the series to take a lead of 1-0.

KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav scored half-centuries while chasing 107 runs target after pacers Arshdeep Singh and Deepak Chahar reduced the Proteas to 9/5. A win in the 2nd T20I against the visitors can give Rohit Sharma his 7th consecutive T20I series win as a captain. But he has a tough task to make it happen in absence of the lead bowler Jasprit Bumrah.

Arshdeep Singh
Arshdeep Singh. (Photo: Twitter)

Resistance from Aiden Markram (25) and Wayne Parnell (24) followed by classy innings from Keshav Maharaj (41) helped South Africa to set a target of 107 runs. Indian top order chased the target with 8 wickets and 20 balls in hand after half-centuries from KL Rahul and Suryakumar Yadav.

Keshav Maharaj
Keshav Maharaj. (Photo: Twitter)

With the win, India now have 23 wins in one calendar year (most by any team). They haven’t lost the last 8 T20I series (7 wins, 1 draw). So it will be difficult for Proteas skipper Temba Bavuma to keep their record of not losing a series on Indian soil.

The 8-wicket win in the 1st T20I showed India’s combined efforts from the batting and bowling department. Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh’s swings, Ravichandran Ashwin’s economical bowling, Harshal Patel’s variations followed by KL Rahul’s calculated knock, and in-form Suryakumar Yadav’s fiery inning gave India a 1-0 lead in the 3-match T20I series.

Rohit Sharma will expect this to continue in the remaining games and in Australia to win the ICC 2022 T20I World Cup. Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul will open the innings. KL Rahul’s strike rate is below 120 in the last 9 games. Virat Kohli has 1 century and 3 half centuries in his last 9 games. But he also has 3 single-digit figures in these games. Though the form is back, he is yet to match up with consistency.

Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav
Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav. (Photo: Twitter)

Suryakumar Yadav is the leading run-scorer of this year with the most number of sixes. He has 732 runs with 45 sixes at a strike rate of 180.29. In the absence of Hardik Pandya and Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik and Rishabh Pant will both get these games as a preparation for the 2022 T20I World Cup.

India suffered a massive heartbreak after Jasprit Bumrah got ruled out from the rest of the series and the T20 World Cup. Deepak Chahar will continue with Arshdeep Singh and Harshal Patel. Deepak Chahar and Arshdeep Singh destroyed Proteas’ top and middle order in the first three overs of the first game. Arshdeep Singh took 3 wickets in his first over to rattle SA to 9 runs for the loss of 5 wickets.

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin. Image: Twitter

Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel will be the spin options after conceding just 3 runs per over collectively in the first game. Mohammad Siraj has been added as a replacement for Jasprit Bumrah.

Arshdeep Singh picked up 3 wickets while Deepak Chahar and Harshal Patel managed 2 wickets each to halt the tourists to a low total. Ravichandran Ashwin, who didn’t manage to pick a wicket, was the most economical bowler, conceding only 8 runs in 4 overs with a maiden.

It was a nightmare for South Africa in the 1st T20I. Losing 5 wickets for 9 runs wasn’t expected for the South African side. It was the third time South Africa had lost 5 wickets in the powerplay. Hopefully, they come back stronger in the second T20I.  Quinton de Kock and Temba Bavuma will open the innings for South Africa.

Rilee Rossouw,
Rilee Rossouw,. Image-Twitter

Rilee Rossouw who was South Africa’s leading run-scorer with 296 runs in 5 games against England also got out on the duck in the first game. A bad game will not make his form stutter and is expected to bounce back against the Indian bowling attack. He may also be replaced by Reeza Hendricks.

Aiden Markram and Wayne Parnell brought South Africa back into the game with a 33-run partnership. Aiden Markram is the backbone of SA’s middle-order for quite a long. Tristan Stubbs needs to work on playing more balls before going for big hits. He went for a zero in the first game on his first ball after playing a shot not required for the situation.

Tabraiz Shamsi
Tabraiz Shamsi. Image: Twitter

Kagiso Rabada and Wayne Parnell gave just 5 runs per over in 8 overs. It was the spin attack of Tabraiz Shamsi and Keshav Maharaj that got hammered by the Indian batters. This happened in the last series too. SA may go with Dwaine Pretorious over Tabraiz Shamsi as he adds batting also in the mixture. Anrich Nortje also picked up a wicket on the very first ball of his spell, that too of Virat Kohli, but went for 32 runs in 3 overs.

India Predicted XI– Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik, Axar Patel, Ravichandran Ashwin, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

South Africa Predicted XI– Quinton de Kock (wk), Temba Bavuma (c), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Wayne Parnell, Dwaine Pretorious, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Anrich Nortje

South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I

India and South Africa have faced 23 times in T20Is. India has won 12 and South Africa emerged victorious 8 times while 3 matches have been abandoned. Rohit Sharma is the leading run-getter with 362 runs while Suresh Raina trails him with 339 runs.

JP Duminy is the 3rd highest run-getter and Proteas’ leading run scorer with 295 runs. Rohit Sharma (106) and Suresh Raina (101) have scored tons in bilateral matches.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma
Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Rohit Sharma. Pic Credits: Twitter
South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I South Africa Tour Of India 2022, IND vs SA Head To Head Records, 2nd T20I

Bhuvneshwar Kumar is the leading wicket-taker with 14 scalps while Ravichandran Ashwin has 10 scalps besides his name. The former has registered the best bowling figures of 5/14 but can’t add to his tally as he has been rested in this series.

The last time the two teams met was in June 2022, South Africa won the 1st two T20Is but India came back by winning the next two before the last 5th T20I was abandoned due to rain. In the 1st T20I on 28th September 2022, India defeated Proteas by 8 wickets while successfully chasing the paltry target of 107.