IPL 2021: Top 5 Teams With The Biggest Win Margin In The Tournament
RCB teammates Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and AB de Villiers (Image Credit: Twitter)
3 of 5

3. Kolkata Knight Riders won by 140 runs

Image: Twitter

Yet another RCB involvement, however this time on the losing side. The match was the 1st game of the inaugural edition of IPL at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore on April 18, 2008.

Royal Challengers Bangalore which was led by Rahul Dravid won the toss and they elected to field first. Meanwhile, KKR openers skipper Sourav Ganguly and Brendon McCullum opened for the first time in IPL. Openers had a 61 runs partnership and Ganguly was dismissed at 10.

Meanwhile, the New Zealand cricketer Brendon McCullum played a destructive knock of 158 off 73 balls to show the world what they are going to witness in the marquee Indian Premier League (IPL). His innings were filled with 10 fours and 13 maximums. Notably, he batted with a strike rate of 216.43. And he helped KKR score 222/3.

Meanwhile, during the chase RCB had a horrible run as all their main batters got out in single-digit scores. Only Praveen Kumar was able to score 18 runs and all the other players got out under the score of 10. Which resulted in RCB getting bowled out at 82 and losing the game by 140 runs.

3 of 5