RCB-W vs DEL-W: Match Preview, WPL 2023, Match 02

RCB W vs DC- W WPL 2023 Match 2
Photo Credit: (Twitter)

RCB-W vs DEL-W: Match Preview, WPL 2023, Match 02. Match 2 of WPL 2023 will be played between the RCB-W and the DEL-W at the Braboure Stadium on March 5, Sunday. It will be a double-header day with Gujarat Giants and UP Warriorz playing in the second match of the day at the DY Patil stadium.

RCB Women will be led by Smriti Mandhana while DC Women will be led by Meg Lanning. Lanning recently won the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup last month in South Africa. Lanning has won five ICC titles as captain and now leading the Delhi side making them one of the teams to watch out for in WPL 2023.

IPL 2023 | Australia tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

A total of 409 women players are part of the Women’s Premier League Auction 2023 (WPL auction 2023). Earlier, 1525 players registered for the auction. Out of those, only 409 players were shortlisted for the final draft. Out of 409 players, there are 246 Indian players and 163 overseas players. There are 8 players from associate nations. 202 capped players and 207 uncapped players are in the WPL auction 2023.

The tournament will be played from March 4-26. The matches will be played at the Brabourne stadium and DY Patil stadium with the final to be played at the Brabourne stadium on March 26. The league stage will end with a match between UP Warriorz and Delhi Capitals on March 21 at the Brabourne Stadium. The Eliminator is scheduled to be held at the DY Patil Stadium on March 24. Finally, the WPL 2023 final will take place on March 26 at the Brabourne Stadium. Both venues will host 11 matches each.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AUS 2023 India vs Australia 2023

The tournament will be played in the round-robin format with all five teams playing each other twice. The team topping the points table after the league stage will automatically qualify for the final. The teams placed second and third will play the Eliminator. The winner of the Eliminator will qualify as the second finalist for the Women’s Premier League 2023 final match. Each team thus will play a total of 8 league matches.

RCB-W vs DEL-W: Match Preview, WPL 2023, Match 02

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women 

The RCB women’s side will be led by Indian batter Smriti Mandhana. She is one of the most households names in women’s cricket today having played in WBBL and the Women’s Hundred tournaments. She is being seen as Harmanpreet Kaur’s successor as the next captain of the Indian women’s cricket team and hence the WPL is an important tournament for her. 

The team is filled with plenty of superstars apart from Mandhana. Elysse Perry, Heather Knight Sophie Devine, Richa Ghosh, and Renuka Thakur are some of the other notable players in the side apart from the skipper. 

They have a reputed coaching staff as well with Mike Hesson being the Director of Cricket at RCB. They will be mentored by former Indian tennis champion Sania Mirza. They also roped in former Australian pacer Ben Sawyer as the head coach of the side. Former Indian cricketer Malolan Rangarajan is the assistant coach and also chief of scouting of the franchise ahead of the first season. 

Royal Challengers Bangalore Women’s Squad

Smriti Mandhana (c), Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Renuka Singh Thakur, Richa Ghosh, Erin Burns, Disha Kasat, Indrani Roy, Shreyanka Patil, Kanika Ahuja, Asha Shobana, Heather Knight, Dane van Niekerk, Preeti Bose, Poonam Khemnar, Komal Zanzad, Meghan Schutt, Sahana Pawar

Delhi Capitals Women 

The Capitals will be led by the most successful Australian skipper Meg Lanning. The franchise has invested in the experience of Lanning backing her to win the very first WPL title for the franchise. Like RCB, the DC men’s side has not won the IPL title till now and it is in many ways a race between the two teams as to who wins the WPL title first. 

Apart from Lanning, the franchise has the likes of Jemimah Rodrigues and Shafali Verma, the two big names from Indian cricket. Among the foreign cricketers, the franchise has players like Marizanne Kapp, Alice Capsey, Laura Harris, and Jess Jonassen as the core players of the side. 

Ex-Surrey, Gloucestershire, and Northamptonshire wicketkeeper-batter Jonathan Batty will be their head coach, and former India international Hemlata Kala and former Australia cricketer Lisa Keightley will share assistant coach duties. Meanwhile, Biju George, who has not only worked with the Indian women’s cricket team but has also been the fielding coach of the Delhi Capitals men’s side, has been named the fielding coach.

Delhi Capitals Women’s Squad 

Meg Lanning (c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Radha Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Marizanne Kapp, Titas Sadhu, Alice Capsey, Tara Norris, Laura Harris, Jasia Akhter, Minnu Man, Taniya Bhatia, Poonam Yadav, Jess Jonassen, Sneha Deepthi, Arundhati Reddy, Aparna Mandal

Also Read: WPL 2023: Deandra Dottin To Miss The Inaugural Edition Of Women’s Premier League, Kim Garth Named Replacement

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Related Posts