Harmanpreet Kaur

Last Update on: March 26th, 2023 at 11:57 pm

MI Women won a nail-biter against DC Women in the inaugural WPL 2023 edition. MI Women won the match by 7 wickets where Nat Sciver-Brunt played a magnificent knock of 60 runs in 55 balls where she smashed 7 fours. MI Women skipper Harmanpreet Kaur made sure that the team doesn’t lose wickets in the middle overs after losing 2 wickets in the power-play overs for 27 runs. Harmanpreet Kaur played a terrific knock of 37 runs in 39 balls where she struck 5 fours on a spicy wicket.

DC Women bowlers couldn’t dictate the terms which were quite rare. The star pacer Marizanne Kapp & the shrewd spinner Alice Capsey couldn’t provide the team break-throughs which hurt the team. DC Women fans would be dejected as they were considered favourites given their depth & variety in both batting & bowling departments.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

MI Women bowlers looked on a mission from the word go where the bowlers were spot on with their line & length and didn’t bowl any freebies. Issy Wong, the right-arm pacer set the tone for MI Women when she took 3 huge wickets of Shafali Verma, Alice Capsey & Jemimah Rodrigues which changed the complexion of the match.

MI Women skipper Harmanpreet Kaur marshalled her troops smartly. MI Women fans would be over the moon as not many gave them a chance after losing matches at the back end of the league stage. DC Women batters would be crestfallen as not a single batter scored in excess of 35 runs which was quite shocking.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH)

It feels like a dream- Harmanpreet Kaur

During the post-match presentation, Harmanpreet Kaur was asked about winning the WPL 2023.

“Great experience, we were waiting for so many years. Everyone enjoyed this throughout the dressing room. It feels like a dream, for everyone here. So many people were asking when WPL will come and that day is here, and we are so happy and proud. I think having a long batting line-up, we had to go there and express. Very happy with how everyone performed,” said Harmanpreet Kaur.

“I think staying positive is key, we were lucky with full tosses going in our favor. This is a special moment for all of us, I have been waiting a long time and today I know what it feels like to be winning (laughs). Great experience and waiting for next year. (On coaches) We keep talking about being positive, and we executed our plans really well and that’s the reason I’m standing here today,” she added.

Also Read: IND vs AUS: “I Try To Stay In The Game And Be Competitive”- Adam Zampa After Winning The Player Of The Match Against India In 3rd ODI

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah