No Black Lives Matter Protest During Series vs England, Says Aaron Finch

No Black Lives Matter Protest During Series vs England, Says Aaron Finch

Aaron Finch, Eoin Morgan, England, Australia, England vs Australia
Aaron Finch and Eoin Morgan (Photo by Gareth Copley-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

Athletes and teams around the world have been taking knees in order to support the ongoing Black Lives Matter movement. Cricketers have also done their bit. When West Indies visited England in July, players from both the teams had taken a knee before the first Test in Southampton.

Match officials also took part in the gesture, while both sets of players were carrying a logo on their shirts. In the ongoing Caribbean Premier League (CPL) too, several players have taken a knee to show their support for the worldwide movement which calls for an end to racism.

However, such gestures are unlikely to be seen when England and Australia lock horns in the upcoming T20I series. Ahead of the first T20I, Australia captain Aaron Finch stated that there will be no such display of protest. Aaron Finch also said that his England counterpart Eoin Morgan is on the same page as him. The opening batsman feels that more than these protests, it is important for people to be educated about it.

Aaron Finch
Aaron Finch (Credits: Twitter)

“I have spoken to Eoin (Morgan) and we are not going to do specific gestures like it has happened in the past. The education around it is more important than the protest,” said the Australian in a virtual press conference.

“For us, we are really proud to play a game where it is celebrated all around the world and anyone can play it. It doesn’t matter what race, what religion, what nationality you are from. Cricket is a game for everyone and I am really proud about that,” added Aaron Finch.

England and Australia are scheduled to play 3 T20Is followed by as many ODIs starting on September 4. The 1st T20I is scheduled to be played at the Rose Bowl in Southampton and the 3rd and final ODI is scheduled to be held on September 16. After the series ends, players from the both teams will leave for UAE to take part in IPL 2020.

Also Read: Aaron Finch Confirms Marnus Labuschagne Will Have To Wait For His Maiden T20I Cap

Also Read: Mayank Agarwal Admits Being Fearful Before His Test Debut In Australia