Shakib Al Hasan, Test Cricket
Shakib Al Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Bangladesh will miss the services of their star all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan in the first Test against Pakistan, which will commence on Friday at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chattogram.

Shakib Al Hasan is yet to recover completely from the hamstring injury which he had sustained during the game against West Indies in the T20 World Cup. Consequently, he missed two World Cup matches and the recently-concluded T20I against Pakistan, in which Bangladesh were white-washed 3-0.

The left-hander had earlier been named in Bangladesh’s squad for the first Test, but his participation was subject to his fitness.

Shakib-Al-Hasan. Image Credits: Twitter

In a chat with The Daily Star, Chairman of the National Selection Panel, Minhajul Abedin. has confirmed that Shakib Al Hasan will miss the first Test and remains doubtful for the second Test.

“Shakib will miss the first Test, that’s for sure. He is yet to recover from injury. After assessing the physiotherapist’s report, we can say whether he will be available for the second Test,” Minhajul Abedin said.

Uncapped Mahmudul Hasan and Rejaur Rahman named in Bangladesh’s squad for first Pakistan Test

Bangladesh have picked uncapped players Mahmudul Hasan and Rejaur Rahman in the squad for the first Test.

Pacer Taskin Ahmed was not considered as he required stitches on his hand due to an injury sustained in the third T20 against Pakistan. Also, opener Tamim Iqbal, who has been eyeing a comeback, has not been included in the opening Test due to thumb injury.

Bangladesh test team 2021
Bangladesh. (Photo: ICC)

“There is a fair bit of experience if you consider that Mominul (Haque), Mushfiqur (Rahim), Shakib, Taijul (Islam) and Miraz (Mehidy Hasan) are all part of the squad,” Minhajul Abedin said. 

Bangladesh Squad for 1st Test– Mominul Haque (C), Shadman Islam, Saif Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Litton Kumar Das, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Abu Jayed Chowdhury Rahi, Yasir Ali Rabbi, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Rejaur Rahman Raja

Also Read: IPL 2022 Start Date Revealed; Tournament Likely To Kickoff On This Date In Chennai