ICC, Zimbabwe
Zimbabwe players celebrate a wicket during a World Cup Cricket Qualifier match played with Rwanda at Old Hararians Sports Club in Harare, May 9 2019.

On Thursday, International Cricket Council announced that Zimbabwe will host 2022 ICC World Cup qualifiers in the period of November 21-December 5 later this year.

The schedule for the 10-team tournament is yet to be announced and it is expected that it will be out in the coming days and a total of three teams will qualify for the ICC women’s World Cup 2022 which will stage in New Zealand.

Two teams will participate in the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship: ICC

The three qualifiers as well as the next two teams will also ensure places in the next ICC Women’s Championship (IWC) along with the top five from last time, as the number of teams in the third cycle of the ICC goes up from eight to 10 teams.

Zimbabwe Women's Cricket Team
Zimbabwe Women’s Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

“The ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier is an extremely important event in our calendar as it not only provides teams with a chance to qualify for the World Cup but will also determine the final two participants in the next edition of the ICC Women’s Championship,” ICC Head of Events Chris Tetley said, as reported by Hindustan Times. 

Zimbabwe Cricket thanked ICC for the opportunity to host 2022 ICC women’s World Cup qualifiers

Zimbabwe Cricket thanked ICC for giving them the opportunity to conduct the qualifiers stage in their country and promised to give its best in completing the tournament successfully.

“Firstly, I wish to express our heartfelt thanks to the ICC board for their magnanimous gesture in allowing us the privilege of hosting the ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2021,” said Tavengwa Mukuhlani, chairman of Zimbabwe Cricket. 

Tavengwa Mukuhlani
Tavengwa Mukuhlani. Credits: Twitter

“On our part, we will leave no stone unturned to ensure this prestigious global event stands out as a unique event that celebrates Zimbabwe in all its magnificent splendour, richness, vibrancy, diversity and glory,” he added. 

Bangladesh, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sri Lanka, Thailand, the United States, the West Indies and Zimbabwe are the teams that will participate in the qualifier stage in Zimbabwe.

England women are the current defending champions after they won by nine runs in the final against India women’s team in 2017 at Lord’s.

Also Read: India Women’s Team Has World-Class Players And It Is Going To Be Great Challenge For Us: Meg Lanning