Nayeem Hasan
Nayeem Hasan. Image: Twitter

Last Update on: May 21st, 2022 at 10:01 am

Bangladesh off-spinner Nayeem Hasan will miss the second and final Test against Sri Lanka owing to a finger injury.

Nayeem fractured the middle finger of his right hand while fielding off his own bowling in the first Test in Chattogram. After conducting an X-ray, it was found that the finger was broken.

Nayeem Hasan ruled out of the second Test vs Sri Lanka

Bangladesh cricket team physician Debashish Chowdhury confirmed the 21-year-old won’t participate in the second Test and is unlikely to be available for the West Indies Test series next month.

Nayeem Hasan
Nayeem Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

“Nayeem is certainly ruled out from the second Test against Sri Lanka as he fractured his finger,” Debashish said.

“He will need at least three to four weeks to recover and taking that into consideration it looks he is unlikely to make in the West Indies Test squad,” the physician added.

Nayeem Hasan picked registered best figures in Test career in the first Test

Nayeem picked career-best figures of 6/105 in the first innings of the first innings against Sri Lanka. His dismissals included the likes of skipper Dimuth Karunaratne, Angelo Mathews, and Dinesh Chandimal.

The Bangladesh off-spinner went wicketless in the second innings as the match resulted in a draw on Thursday (May 19).

Bangladesh Cricket Team
Bangladesh Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

Bangladesh are already without the services of pace bowler Taskin Ahmed and Shoriful Islam as they were ruled out of the first Test because of their respective injuries.

Taskin harmed his right shoulder during the initial Test against South Africa and was precluded from the accompanying Test.

Shoriful missed the two-match Test series against South Africa because of a lower leg injury.

The second Test between Bangladesh and Sri Lanka, which will be a decisive game of the two-match series, will start on May 23 at the Shere Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka.

Bangladesh squad for the second Test vs Sri Lanka: Mominul Haque (C), Tamim Iqbal, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Nazmul Hossain Shanto, Mushfiqur Rahim, Liton Das, Shakib al Hasan, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Yasir Ali, Nurul Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Ebadat Hossain, Shahidul Islam, Rezaur Rahman Raja.