T Natarajan
T Natarajan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Last Update on: November 24th, 2021 at 03:57 pm

Tamil Nadu pace bowler T Natarajan won’t be part of Tamil Nadu’s Vijay Hazare Trophy after he sustained a knee niggle in the recently concluded Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021.

Natarajan played for Tamil Nadu in the final match of SMAT 2021-22 but was not played in the semi-final and quarter-final fixture.

T Natarajan to go under rehabilitation at NCA in Bengaluru

T Natarajan
T Natarajan (Image Credit: Twitter)

According to a report by the Times of India, the left-arm pacer will be going under his rehabilitation programme at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru.

Natarajan was tested COVID-19 positive just ahead of Sunrisers Hyderabad’s first game in IPL 2021 and subsequently didn’t play a single game in that tournament.

Vijay Shankar to lead Tamil Nadu in Vijay Hazare Trophy

On Tuesday, Tamil Nadu Cricket Association (TNCA) announced a 20-member squad for the Vijay Hazare Trophy. Wicketkeeper-batter Dinesh Karthik and off-spinner Washington Sundar return to the squad for the state team.

Dinesh Karthik and Washington Sundar.
Dinesh Karthik and Washington Sundar. Credits: Twitter

Karthik missed the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy tournament owing to an injury, while Sundar was out of action since he sustained a finger injury that ruled him out of the England Test series and the second leg of IPL 2021.

All-rounder Baba Aparajith, who is part of India A squad for the South Africa tour, might join the team at later date with the subject to his availability. Aparajith’s twin brother Baba Indrajith has been named in the 20-member squad for the domestic One-Day tournament.

Vijay Shankar, who led Tamil Nadu to the title of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021-22, will continue to lead the side.

In the Elite B group, Tamil Nadu is paired with Mumbai, Pondicherry, Baroda, Bengal, Karnataka. All the matches of that group will take place in Thiruvananthapuram, and Tamil Nadu will play its first game against Mumbai on December 8.

Tamil Nadu defended their SMAT title after defeating arch-rivals Karnataka in a nail-biting final on Monday.

Also Read: Watch: Shahrukh Khan Hits 6 Off The Last Ball In Final As Tamil Nadu Clinch Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021