Posted inLatest Cricket News, Bangladesh National Cricket Team, Sri Lanka National Cricket Team

Bangladesh announce replacement for injured Aliss Al Islam for the Sri Lanka T20Is

Bangladesh Cricket Team suffered a blow just a few days ahead of the three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka. Off-spinner Aliss Al Islam was ruled out of the entire series due to the finger injury that he faced recently.  Aliss Al Islam suffered a finger injury during the recently concluded Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) while […]

Bangladesh National Cricket Team Details

Team Bangladesh
Nickname The Bangla Tigers 
Governing body Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB)
Captain Shakib Al Hasan
Coach Chandika Hathurusingha
First Test v. India at Bangabandhu National Stadium, Dhaka; 10–13 November 2000
First ODI v. Pakistan at Tyronne Fernando Stadium, Moratuwa; 31 March 1986
First T20I v. Zimbabwe at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium, Khulna; 28 November 2006

The Bangladesh National Cricket Team represents Bangladesh in men’s international cricket. The Bangladesh Cricket team is administered by the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB). Bangladesh is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and plays all three formats.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team History:

  • Before independence, teams from Bangladesh, then known as East Pakistan, participated in Pakistani domestic cricket.
  • Six years after gaining independence, Bangladesh became an Associate member of the ICC in 1977. They Participated in the inaugural ICC Trophy in 1979, under Raqibul Hasan’s captaincy.
  • In 1984, the Bangladesh cricket team won the South-East Asian Cricket Conference Tournament and qualified for the 1986 Asia Cup.
  • In 1986, Bangladesh played their first ODI against Pakistan. In 1988, they staged the Asia Cup which marked the first instance of an ODI being played in Bangladesh. In 1998, they hosted the ICC KnockOut Trophy too but did not participate.
  • In 2000, they were granted Test status by the ICC and played their first Test in the same year against India.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team ICC World Cup record:

Bangladesh made its debut in the ICC ODI World Cup in 1999 and has played in every edition since then. In the 1999 edition, they caused a major upset by defeating Pakistan. Their best performance in the tournament came in 2007 and 2015 when they finished in the seventh spot. Bangladesh are yet to make it to the semifinal stage of the competition.

Year Round Position Matches Won Lost Tied No Result
1999 Group stage 9/12 5 2 3 0 0
2003 Group stage 13/14 6 0 5 0 1
2007 Super Eights 7/16 9 3 6 0 0
2011 Group stage 9/14 6 3 3 0 0
2015 Quarter-finals 7/14 7 3 3 0 1
2019 Group stage 8/10 9 3 5 0 1
2023 Group stage 8/10 9 2 7 0 0

Bangladesh National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup record:

Bangladesh has played in all the editions of the T20 World Cup and is yet to make it to the knockouts. They have played a total of 38 games in the competition so far. Of those, the Bangladesh cricket team has won just 9 while losing 28.

Year Round Position Matches Won Lost Tied NR
2007 Second Round 8/12 5 1 4 0 0
2009 First Round 10/12 2 0 2 0 0
2010 First Round 10/12 2 0 2 0 0
2012 First Round 9/12 2 0 2 0 0
2014 Second Round 10/16 7 2 5 0 0
2016 Second Round 10/16 7 2 4 0 1
2021 Second Round 12/16 8 2 6 0 0
2022 Second Round 9/16 5 2 3 0 0

Bangladesh Team Today/Current Bangladesh cricket team:

Here is the list of prominent players who are part of the current Bangladesh cricket team:  Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Zakir Hasan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shahadat Hossain, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nurul Hasan(w), Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Shoriful Islam, Khaled Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Shadman Islam, Hasan Murad, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed

Bangladesh Cricket Team FAQs

What is the other name of Bangladesh cricket team?

Bangladesh are also known by the name the Bangla Tigers.

Who is the highest run scorer in the ICC World Cup for Bangladesh?

Shakib Al Hasan has scored the most number of runs for Bangladesh in ICC World Cups. He has scored 1332 runs in 36 games so far with the help of two centuries and 11 half-centuries

Who was the captain of Bangladesh in 2007 World Cup?

Habibul Bashar was the Bangladesh captain in 2007 World Cup.