Posted inICC World Test Championship 2023-25, Australia National Cricket Team, Latest Cricket News, New Zealand National Cricket Team

Watch: Nathan Lyon denies revealing Kane Williamson’s weakness and his plan for the batter

Australian off-spinner Nathan Lyon opted against revealing the flaw that he found in the batting of Kane Williamson against him. He said that he noticed something and tried to exploit that but he won’t reveal it because there’s still one match to go. Nathan Lyon is having a decent game in the ongoing Test between […]

New Zealand National Cricket Team Details:

Team New Zealand
Nickname Black Caps, Kiwis
Governing body New Zealand Cricket (SLC)
Captain Kane Williamson, Tim Southee
Coach Gary Stead
First Test v. England at Lancaster Park, Christchurch; 10–13 January 1930
First ODI v. Pakistan at Lancaster Park, Christchurch; 11 February 1973
First T20I v. Australia at Eden Park, Auckland; 17 February 2005

The New Zealand National Cricket Team represents New Zealand in men’s international cricket. The New Zealand cricket team is also known as the Black Caps and Kiwis. The New Zealand Cricket Team is governed by the New Zealand Cricket (NZC). New Zealand is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and plays all three formats.

New Zealand National Cricket Team History:

  • As per several sources, cricket dates back to the 19th century in New Zealand. According to Reverend Henry Williams, the first game of cricket in New Zealand was in December 1832. The first recorded cricket game in New Zealand occurred in Wellington in December 1842 between the “Red” and “Blue” teams.
  • Parr’s all-England XI was the first team to tour New Zealand in 1863-64. Between 1864 and 1914, 22 foreign teams toured New Zealand, including England (6 teams), Australia (15 teams), and one from Fiji.
  • The first team representing New Zealand played New South Wales in February 1894. New Zealand won its first match against New South Wales in 1895–96. The New Zealand Cricket Council was formed towards the end of 1894.
  • New Zealand earned Test status after touring England in 1927.
  • In 1956, New Zealand won their first Test against the West Indies. They won their first-ever series in 1969/70 against Pakistan.

New Zealand National Cricket Team ICC World Cup record:

New Zealand has played in all the editions of the World Cup so far but has yet to win the competition. In 2015, they made it to the final of the tournament for the first time under the captaincy of Brendon McCullum before suffering a loss against Australia.

In 2019, Kane Williamson led the New Zealand Cricket team to the final once again but the Black Caps lost the title decider once again. Apart from two finals, New Zealand has also qualified for the semifinals on eight other occasions.

New Zealand National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup record:

The New Zealand National Cricket Team is yet to win the ICC T20 World Cup. Their best performance in the competition came in 2021 when they made it to the final but lost the title decider to Australia. They have also qualified for the semifinals thrice.

New Zealand Team Today/Current New Zealand cricket team:

Here is the list of prominent players who are part of the current New Zealand team: Devon Conway, Henry Nicholls, Kane Williamson, Rachin Ravindra, Daryl Mitchell, Tom Latham(w), Mitchell Santner, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Will Young, Ish Sodhi, Glenn Phillips, Tom Blundell

New Zealand National Cricket Team FAQs

Has New Zealand won any ICC trophy?

Yes, New Zealand have two ICC trophies so far - the ICC KnockOut trophy in 2000 and the ICC World Test Championship in 2021.

Is Rachin Ravindra an Indian?

Rachin Ravindra is a New Zealand cricketer, though his origins are Indian; both of his parents are from India

Who was the captain of the New Zealand in World Cup 2011?

Daniel Vettori was the captain of the New Zealand team in 2011 World Cup.