Posted inLatest Cricket News, Afghanistan National Cricket Team, Ireland National Cricket Team

Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman remain unavailable as Afghanistan announce 16-member squad for Ireland Series

Afghanistan will be without the services of Rashid Khan and Mujeeb Ur Rahman in the three-match ODI series against Ireland. Rashid Khan, who is recovering from back surgery, and Mujeeb Ur Rahman (right phalanx sprain), remain unavailable for selection. Rashid Khan has been out of competitive cricket since November 2023 due to lower back surgery. […]

Ireland National Cricket Team Details

Team Ireland
Governing body Cricket Ireland
Captain Andrew Balbirnie, Paul Stirling
Coach Heinrich Malan
First Test v. Pakistan at The Village, Malahide; 11–15 May 2018
First ODI v.  England at Stormont, Belfast; 13 June 2006
First T20I v.  Scotland at Stormont, Belfast; 2 August 2008

The Ireland National Cricket Team represents Afghanistan in men’s international cricket. The Ireland Cricket team is administered by the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB). Ireland is a full member of the International Cricket Council (ICC) and plays all three formats.

Ireland National Cricket Team History:

  • Modern cricket was introduced in Ireland by the English in the towns of Kilkenny and Ballinasloe (early 19th century). The first Ireland Cricket Team played in 1855.
  • While an Irish Cricket union was set up in 1923, some clubs refused to recognize it. In 2001, Cricket Ireland became the official oversight body for cricket in Ireland recognised by all cricket clubs in the country.
  • Ireland joined the ICC as an Associate Member in 1993. The Ireland National Cricket Team participated in the ICC Trophy, finishing seventh in 1994.
  • Ireland was granted the ICC status and qualified for the ODI World Cup for the first time in 2007. They registered a historic win over Pakistan in the competition and advanced ahead of the group stage.
  • Qualified for the 2011 World Cup too where they registered a historic win over England.
  • In 2017, the ICC granted the Ireland Cricket Team the Test status. They played their first Test in 2018 against Pakistan.

Ireland National Cricket Team ICC World Cup record:

Ireland has played in three editions of the ICC World Cup so far. They made their debut in the 2007 edition and finished at the eighth spot in the 16-team competition. In 2011, they won two games and finished in the 11th spot out of 14 teams. In 2015, 3 wins and as many losses saw them finish at the sixth spot in the 14-team competition.

Year Round Position GP W L T NR
2007 Super 8 8/16 9 2 6 1 0
2011 Group Stage 11/14 6 2 4 0 0
2015 Group Stage 9/14 6 3 3 0 0

Ireland National Cricket Team ICC T20 World Cup record:

Ireland has played in seven editions of the ICC T20 World Cup so far. They made their debut in the competition in 2009 and won 1 out of 5 games. Their best performance in the tournament came in 2022 when they won 3 games.

Year Round Position GP W L T NR
2009 Super 8 8/12 5 1 4 0 0
2010 Group stage 9/12 2 0 1 0 1
2012 Group stage 9/12 2 0 1 0 1
2014 Group stage 13/16 3 2 1 0 0
2016 Group stage 15/16 3 0 2 0 1
2021 Group stage 1st round 3 1 2 0 0
2022 Super 12 10/16 8 3 4 0 1

Ireland Team Today/Current Ireland cricket team:

Here is the list of prominent players who are part of the current Ireland cricket team: Andrew Balbirnie, Paul Stirling, Curtis Campher, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker(w), George Dockrell, Mark Adair, Andy McBrine, Graham Hume, Craig Young, Joshua Little, Neil Rock, Barry McCarthy, Theo van Woerkom

Ireland National Cricket Team FAQs

Who is the captain of Ireland cricket team?

While Paul Balbirnie is the Test captain of the Ireland team, Paul Stirling is the captain in the limited-overs format.

Has Ireland defeated Pakistan in the World Cup?

Yes, Ireland had defeated Pakistan during the group stage of the 2007 World Cup in the Caribbeans.

Why did Ireland not play the 2023 World Cup?

Ireland failed to qualify for the 2023 World Cup.