5 Reasons Why Team India Have Not Been Able To Win An ICC Trophy Since 2013

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

5 Reasons Why Team India Have Not Been Able To Win An ICC Trophy Since 2013. India have not been able to win an ICC Trophy since MS Dhoni led the Men in Blue to the 2013 Champions Trophy win.

In the 2014 T20 World Cup, India lost to Sri Lanka in the final, after which they lost to Australia in the 2015 50-over World Cup in the semis. In 2016 the Men in Blue lost to West Indies in the T20 World Cup semi-finals before losing to Pakistan in the 2017 Champions Trophy finals and then to New Zealand in the 2019 50-over World Cup semi-finals and 2019-21 WTC finals.

IPL 2023 | India tour of Bangladesh 2022 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Sri Lanka tour of India 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023

MS Dhoni receives the Champions 2013 Trophy- India's last ICC Trophy. Image-AFP
MS Dhoni receives the Champions 2013 Trophy- India’s last ICC Trophy. Image-AFP

They also suffered a group-stage exit in the 2021 T20 WC and lost to England by 10 wickets in the semis of the 2022 T20 WC.

The Men in Blue team in ICC events since the 2013 Champions Trophy win: 2014 WT20 – Runners-up- Only Virat Kohli performed well in the finals. India scored a paltry 130/4 which was chased easily by Sri Lanka; 2015 ODI WC – Semis-  MS Dhoni’s well-fought 65 went in vain. The Men in Blue lost by 95 runs chasing a stiff 329 runs target set by Australia.

IPL 2023 Auction | IND vs BAN 2022 | India vs Bangladesh 2022 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023

2016 WT20 – Semis- Virat Kohli was the best performer once again and all bowlers consumed 10 runs per over except Ashish Nehra. The Men in Blue set a 193-run target, but the Darren Sammy-led Windies side particularly Lendl Simmons (82*) chased it down with 7 wickets in hand.

2017 CT – Runners-up- The batting line-up collapsed and only Hardik Pandya performed well in both aspects. Fakhar Zaman scored a hundred due to which Pakistan set a 339-run target. In reply, The Men in Blue were bowled out for just 158 runs.

2019 ODI WC – Semis- New Zealand scored 239 for 8 and then Men in Blue went through a top-order collapse, with Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, and Virat Kohli scoring 1 run each. MS Dhoni scored a fighting fifty but his run-out and then Ravindra Jadeja’s dismissal for 77 destroyed the Men in Blue’s chances. The Men in Blue were bowled out for 221, losing the game by 18 runs.

2019-21 WTC – Runners-up- No batter of the Asian side performed consistently in both innings (none scored a fifty). India didn’t bat well in the second innings and managed to set a paltry 139-run target for the Kiwis.

2021 T20 WC- Group Stage- Bio-bubble fatigue due to back-to-back tournaments over the last 6 months, contributed to the Men in Blue’s poor show. Virat Kohli lost the coin toss in the matches against both Pakistan and New Zealand in T20 World Cup 2021.

2022 T20 WC- Semis- Men in Blue’s ‘conservative’ and ‘timid’ batting approach in the powerplay of the semis against England, wrist spinners weren’t picked, absence of strike pacer Jasprit Bumrah, over-dependence on Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav, poor bowling effort in the semis against England.

5 Reasons Why Team India Have Not Been Able To Win An ICC Trophy Since 2013

1. Lack Of All Rounders

Sunil Gavaskar
Sunil Gavaskar (Image Credits: Twitter)

India last won a major ICC trophy under former captain MS Dhoni in 2013 and has since failed to bring an end to their ICC trophy drought despite coming close on several occasions. The legendary former batter Sunil Gavaskar explained the reason behind the lack of success in ICC tournaments for the Men in Blue.

The former captain feels the lack of all-rounders has cost the Asian Giants in big tournaments. He cited the examples of how all great teams in the past have had batters in the middle order, who could also be handy with the ball in their hands.

Sunil Gavaskar cited the examples of the likes of Yuvraj Singh and Suresh Raina, who batted extremely well in the middle-order and also were brilliant as part-time bowlers for captain MS Dhoni. The likes of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma can bowl but haven’t done it frequently, while the likes of KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, and Shubman Gill can’t bowl.

Related Posts