Rashid Khan, Dasun Shanaka

Last Update on: September 5th, 2023 at 08:17 pm

On Tuesday, September 5, the star Afghanistan National Cricket Team leg-spinner Rashid Khan rattled the stumps of the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team skipper Dasun Shanaka at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore on Tuesday, September 05.

The Sri Lanka captain failed miserably with the bat in the crucial Asia Cup 2023 clash against the Afghans. He scored just 5 runs off 8 balls, including one boundary, before walking back to the hut.

He was castled by the star leg-spinner Rashid on the third ball of the 40th over. Rashid Khan bowled a 96kph googly that was tossed up. Shanaka got low and played a sweep shot, but he completely missed it and the ball spun past his bat and pads to crash into the stumps.

Watch: Rashid Khan Castles Dasun Shanaka

Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first in the match. They batted quite well and posted a good total of 291/8 on the board. Afghanistan need to chase down the total within 37.1 overs to progress to the next round and join Bangladesh, India, and Pakistan in the Super 4 stage of the continental tournament.

Kusal Mendis was the top performer for his side as he scored 92 runs off 84 balls, with 6 fours and 3 sixes. The Sri Lanka No.3 missed out on a well-deserved ton as he got out in the most unfortunate way possible in the 40th over. Rashid Khan was bowling to Shanaka when Mendis was on the non-striker’s end and the Sri Lanka captain hit the ball straight back to Rashid, who dropped the catch and the ball went on to hit the stumps at the non-striker’s end where Mendis was short of the crease.

Read More  Sri Lanka Cricket Delivers Fitness Update On Dasun Shanaka, Kusal Perera And Maheesh Theekshana As Trio Miss World Cup Warm-up Game

Afghanistan (Playing XI): Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, Hashmatullah Shahidi(c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Karim Janat, Rashid Khan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Pathum Nissanka, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis(w), Sadeera Samarawickrama, Charith Asalanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Dasun Shanaka(c), Dunith Wellalage, Maheesh Theekshana, Kasun Rajitha, Matheesha Pathirana

Sonanchal Gautam

A Professional Wrestling And Hip-hop Enthusiast, Who Is Focused On Writing Cricket-related Stuff 6 Days A Week.