Mohammed Shami
Mohammed Shami. Image-Twitter

Indian pace bowler Mohammed Shami asserted that the shift in captaincy should not have a bearing on an individual’s performance and they should continue performing to the best of their abilities.

Recently, Virat Kohli stepped down as the Test captain, a few months after giving up T20I captaincy and being removed as the ODI captain. Rohit Sharma has taken over in the white-ball formats while the Test captain is yet to be announced.

Of course, the team needs a leader (in Test cricket). Good that our first series (under the new captain) will be at home (against Sri Lanka next month), so familiarity with the conditions brings in some sort of a relief.

All That Matters Is The Result - Mohammed Shami Believes Captaincy Change Shouldn't Affect Team Performance
KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma
KL Rahul, Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Twitter)

But if you ask me, I will be focusing more on how I fare and how the bowling unit performs as a whole. I’m really not thinking about who takes over the captaincy. We have Rohit (Sharma), while Ajinkya (Rahane) is there as well, but all that matters is the result.

“It’s up to the individuals to focus more on their own performances and take bigger responsibility, as that leads to the results we expect,” Shami told Telegraph.

The captaincy change will be seen in full effect when India takes on West Indies in the white-ball series starting on February 6. The squad for the same was announced by the BCCI and it sees the return of Kuldeep Yadav and Deepak Hooda.

Deepak Hooda
Deepak Hooda[photo: Twitter]
Ruturaj Gaikwad was also included and he would be hoping to get an opportunity at the top of the order. As for Shami, he was rested with an eye on managing his workload.

India’s ODI squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Surya Kumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Mohd. Siraj, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan.

India’s T20I squad:

Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (Vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Washington Sundar, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.

Also Read – Rohit Sharma Is The Only Option Because No One Like A KL Rahul Or Rishabh Pant Has Been Groomed – Saba Karim Names His Choice For India’s New Test Captain