Asia Cup 2023 Prize Money

Last Update on: July 22nd, 2023 at 09:28 pm

Asia Cup 2023 is just over a month away. After a lot of confusion and controversies, the Asian Cricket Council has finally confirmed that the tournament will be played this year. There were some dark clouds over the competition due to the controversy over the venue.

The Asia Cup, which began in 1984, is the only continental championship in the game. Asia Cup 2023 will be the sixteenth edition of the tournament. In this year’s Asia Cup, a total of six teams will be participating. The teams are – India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. Nepal will be making their debut in the tournament in the upcoming edition.

With the schedule and the team list already announced by the ACC, the fans are excited for the tournament to begin. Asia Cup 2023 will not only be a source of entertainment for them but can also help them earn good money. One of the major sources for earning money during Asia Cup 2023 will be Bonusy Bukmacherskie.

Asia Cup 2023 Teams, Groups and Format:

The six teams have been divided into two groups of three teams. India, Pakistan and Nepal have been clubbed together in Group A while defending champions Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are in Group B.

Group A Group B
Pakistan Sri Lanka
India Bangladesh
Nepal Afghanistan

With the ODI World Cup to be played this year, the Asia Cup will be played in the ODI format. It will give the teams the opportunity to prepare for the marquee event. As far as the format of the competition is concerned, each team will play against the other two teams once in their respective group.

The top two teams from each group will then qualify for the Super 4. In the Super 4, each team will play against the other three teams once. The top two teams will then qualify for the Asia Cup final.

Read More  Gautam Gambhir Praises MS Dhoni's Captaincy Record, Says No One Can Match His Captaincy

Asia Cup 2023 schedule and venue:

Asia Cup 2023 will be played in a hybrid model that will see the tournament being played in Pakistan and Sri Lanka. Multan and Lahore will be the venue in Pakistan while Colombo and Kandy will host the games in Sri Lanka. Pakistan will host three league games and one Super Four contest while Sri Lanka will be hosting the remaining nine games.

Pakistan will be hosting the Asia Cup games for just the second time and first time since 2008 while Sri Lanka last hosted Asia Cup in 2010. India will be playing all of their games in Sri Lanka. In the first game of the tournament, nominated hosts Pakistan will lock horns against debutant Nepal in Multan on August 30. India, on the other hand, will open their campaign against arch-rivals Pakistan on September 2 in Kandy.

Defending champions Sri Lanka will open their campaign against Bangladesh in Kandy on August 31 while Afghanistan will take on Bangladesh in Lahore in their first game of Asia Cup 2023. There is a possibility that India and Pakistan might end up playing three games against each other in the tournament if they manage to make it to the playoffs and the final.

Read More  Aakash Chopra Reacts To Washout In IND vs ENG Warm-Up Game, Says "IND vs AUS Series Was More Valuable Than..."

Asia Cup 2023 schedule:

August 30: Pakistan vs Nepal in Multan
August 31: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka in Kandy
September 2: Pakistan vs India in Kandy
September 3: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan in Lahore
September 4: India vs Nepal in Kandy
September 5: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka in Lahore
September 6: Pak/Nepal vs Bangladesh/Afghanistan (Super 4)
September 9: SL/Afg vs Bang/Afg in Colombo (Super 4)
September 10: India/Nep vs Pak/Nep in Colombo (Super 4)
September 12: India/Nep vs SL/Afg in Colombo (Super 4)
September 15: India/Nep vs Ban/Afg in Colombo (Super 4)
September 17: FINAL

Asia Cup winners:

Talking about the winners of Asia Cup, India won the inaugural edition in 1984 before Sri Lanka won the second edition. India won the next three editions before Sri Lanka won it for the second time in 1997. Pakistan won their first Asia Cup in 2000. As of now, only India, Pakistan and Sri Lanka have won the continental championship.

India are the most successful side in the history of the competition, having won it seven times (six ODI editions, one T20I edition). On the other hand, Sri Lanka have won it six times (Five ODI editions, one T20I editions) while Pakistan have won the tournament’s ODI editions twice. Sri Lanka are also the defending champions, having defeated Pakistan in the final of the Asia Cup 2022 which was played in T20 format.

Read More  "Looking Forward To Temba Bavuma Coming Back Next Week"- South Africa Head Coach Rob Walter Ahead Of Campaign Opener

Asia Cup winners list:

Year Winner Runner Up Hosting Nation
1984 India Sri Lanka UAE
1986 Sri Lanka Pakistan Sri Lanka
1988 India Sri Lanka Bangladesh
1991 India Sri Lanka India
1995 India Sri Lanka UAE
1997 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2000 Pakistan Sri Lanka Bangladesh
2004 Sri Lanka India Sri Lanka
2008 Sri Lanka India Pakistan
2010 India Sri Lanka Sri Lanka
2012 Pakistan Bangladesh Bangladesh
2014 Sri Lanka Pakistan Bangladesh
2016 India Bangladesh Bangladesh
2018 India Bangladesh UAE
2022 Sri Lanka Pakistan UAE

Asia Cup 2023 Prize money:

The prize money of any big event is something that garners a lot of attentions. Fans remain very keen to know just how much money the winner and the runner-up teams bag after doing so well in a multi-nation competition like the Asia Cup. The Asia Cup is one of the biggest event in the cricketing world and the prize money on offer is also lucrative.

The Asian Cricket Council is yet to announce the the Asia Cup 2023 Prize money and is likely to do it very soon. However, one can assume that the prize money will be similar to what the governing body offered in the last edition. Last year, the winners received a grand amount of ₹1,59,53,000 (approx), while the runners up took h take home a cheque of ₹79,66,000.




Shubh Singh

Once a Programing Geek..Now A Social Media Expert!! Covering the game that's parallel to a religion in the country!!