AUS vs PAK: PCB Offer Central Contracts To Five More Players, Sarfaraz Ahmed Elevated To Category B

Updated - 20 Oct 2023, 09:35 PM

Zaka Ashraf, PCB
Zaka Ashraf (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB), on Friday (October 20), announced the addition of five more players to their central contracts list.

In September this year, the PCB had announced a list of 25 players for the central contracts. The contracts’ tenure is from 1 July 2023 to 30 June 2026. While the players were handed a three-year contract, the PCB also made it clear that their performances will be reviewed after every 12-month period.

In another big decision, the board had also merged the red-ball and white-ball national contracts. The central contracts list was finalized by the previous management committee headed by Najam Sethi. The new and current committee headed by Zaka Ashraf has decided to add five more players to the list.

PCB offer central contracts to five more players:

On Friday, the PCB announced that after a thorough review, it has decided to name five additional players in the men’s central contracts list. The number of Pakistan players with central contracts now stands at 30. The latest Pakistan players who have earned contracts are – Abrar Ahmed, Noman Ali, Tayyab Tahir, Aamir Jamal, and Arshad Iqbal.

Abrar and Noman have been added to Category C while Tahir, Aamir, and Arshad have been added to Category D. Former Pakistan captain Sarfaraz Ahmed has been elevated to Category B after being originally named in Category D. The Champions Trophy-winning former captain is currently Pakistan’s main wicketkeeper in Tests.

Earlier this year, he starred with the bat during the home series against New Zealand, scoring one century and three half-centuries.

List of centrally contracted Pakistan players:

Category A: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Sarfaraz Ahmed and Shadab Khan

Category C: Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Imad Wasim and Noman Ali

Category D: Aamir Jamal, Arshad Iqbal, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan


Aamir Jamal Abrar Ahmed Noman Ali Pakistan Cicket Board (PCB) Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Tayyab Tahir