Australia, New Zealand to play T20I series too for Chappell-Hadlee Trophy

Updated - 19 Feb 2024, 12:23 PM

AUS vs NZ Head to Head Records in T20Is- 2nd T20I, 2024
Photo Credit: (Twitter/BlackCaps)

The T20I series between Australia and New Zealand will now be played for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy as well. The trophy was earlier awarded to the winner of the bilateral ODI series between the Trans-Tasman rivals. The trophy is named after former Australia batsman Greg Chappell and New Zealand allrounder Richard Hadlee.

It will begin with the upcoming three-match T20I series, scheduled to get underway on Wednesday (February 21) in Wellington. Having the same trophy for both the white-ball format means that when both the teams play back-to-back ODI and T20I series against each other, there will be a points structure including both formats in order to prevent the trophy from changing hands within days.

“It’s great that the trophy will have more visibility and profile. I like the new conditions too – especially in the event of back-to-back 20-over and 50-over series,” Hadlee was quoted as saying on behalf of his family in a release, as quoted by ESPNCricinfo.

“It means all games will continue to be relevant, and that the trophy will remain on the line for a longer period – plenty to play for,” he added.

On the other hand, Chappell said: “I am a great believer in promoting young players through the pathways and national system and it will be particularly pleasing to see some young Australian players competing with their Kiwi counterparts for the trophy in years to come.”

Chappell-Hadlee Trophy and its history:

The first series for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy was played in December 2004 when New Zealand toured Australia for a three-match ODI series. The series ended at 1-1. In the 2005/06 season, Australia won the trophy with a 2-1 win over the Black Caps.

Since then, Australia have won the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy seven times while New Zealand have won it four times. Australia are also the current holders of the famous trophy.

Here is a list showing the result of the series played for the Chappell-Hadlee Trophy:

Season Host Result
2004–05 Australia Drawn 1–1
2005–06 New Zealand Australia won 2–1
2006–07 New Zealand New Zealand won 3–0
2007–08 Australia Australia won 2–0
2008–09 Australia Drawn 2–2
2009–10 New Zealand Australia won 3–2
2015–16 New Zealand New Zealand won 2–1
2016–17 Australia Australia won 3–0
2016–17 New Zealand New Zealand won 2–0
2019–20 Australia Australia won 1–0
2022–23 Australia Australia won 3–0


Australia National Cricket Team Chappell-Hadlee Trophy New Zealand national cricket team NZ vs AUS 2024