Babar Azam goes to war with Pakistan Cricket Board!! Skips the Army Camp in Kakul

Published - 29 Mar 2024, 12:30 PM

Babar Azam Shaheen Afridi PCB
Babar Azam Shaheen Afridi. Image Credits: Twitter

Pakistan team is gearing up for their forthcoming T20I series against New Zealand with a training camp in Kabul City. However, Babar Azam and three other Pakistan players missed the opening day of the camp on Tuesday. A total of 29 players are part of the training camp in Kabul.

Babar Azam took part in the Pakistan Super League 2024 (PSL 2024) recently. The Peshawar Zalmi skipper ended as the highest run-getter in the tournament with 569 runs in 11 games. Pakistan is set to host New Zealand in a five-match T20I series next month.

Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series will observe five encounters between both sides. The opening three games take place at Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium on April 18, 20, and 21. The final two games are scheduled to be played at Gaddafi Stadium on April 25 and 27.

Also Read: PCB turns to Luke Ronchi as head coach candidate after triple rejection – Reports

Babar Azam and 3 other players missed the opening day of training camp

Four Pakistan players missed the opening game of the Kabul training camp. Babar Azam, Naseem Shah, and Iftikhar Ahmed will join the camp on Wednesday, March 27 after returning from Saudi Arabia. Pacer Mohammad Amir also missed the opening day of the camp.

The training camp concludes on April 8. It is monitored by PCB’s medical commission head Dr. Sohail Saleem and physio Cliffe Deacon. Some Army trainers are also part of the camp to help players to improve their fitness. Below is the list of all 29 Pakistan players part of the training camp for the Pakistan vs New Zealand T20I series.

Also Read: Pakistan tour of Australia 2024 schedule announced

List of 29 players part of training camp for New Zealand series

Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan, Saim Ayub, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Ali, Zaman Khan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Aamir Jamal, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Amir, Fakhar Zaman, Sahibzada Farhan, Haseebullah, Imad Wasim, Usama Mir, Mohammad Nawaz, Mehran Mumtaz, Abrar Ahmed, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Naseem Shah, Mohammad Abbas Afridi, Hasan Ali, Saud Shakeel, Usman Khan, Mohammad Haris, Salman Ali Agha, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Irfan Khan Niazi.

Also Read: PCB Chairman Mohsin Naqvi announces new selection committee; Shaheen Afridi’s captaincy future to be decided soon

Pakistan lost to New Zealand 4-1 in previous series

Shaheen Afridi is the T20I captain of Pakistan and he might lead the side against New Zealand. However, there are also reports of a captaincy shift. Under Shaheen Afridi, Pakistan faced a miserable 4-1 defeat to New Zealand in their last campaign.

Ahead of PSL 2024, Pakistan toured New Zealand for a five-match T20I series. The Blackcaps thoroughly dominated the visitors by winning the first four games in a row. Pakistan managed to win just the final encounter.


Babar Azam Iftikhar Ahmad Mohammad Amir Naseem Shah Pakistan national cricket team Pakistan vs New Zealand PSL 2024