Women's T20 Challenge 2022
Photo by: Faheem Hussain /SPORTZPICS for BCCI

Last Update on: June 2nd, 2022 at 12:59 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

Following the effective finish of the Women T20 Challenge 2022, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is wanting to make the competition greater. On the off chance that reports are to be accepted, the Indian cricket board is searching for a window to lead a full-fledged women’s Indian Premier League (IPL).  

As indicated by an ANI report, the BCCI authorities have had a conversation with partners in regards to the competition. Board President Sourav Ganguly and Secretary Jay Shah have clarified that the WIPL, highlighting six teams, will be directed in a fully-fledged way; the report additionally expressed. 

Jay Shah and Saurav Ganguly
BCCI secretary Jay Shah and President Saurav Ganguly (Image Credits: Twitter)

BCCI To Seek Separate Window For Women’s IPL From ICC

“There was a meeting during the IPL final. There are two windows for which a green signal has to be obtained, one in March/April and the second one in September/October.

“We will also get in touch with ICC to seek a separate window. BCCI could start men’s IPL in May next year,” a source was quoted as saying by ANI. 

Read More  India Playing 11 vs Australia- 2nd ODI, 2023
BCCI (Image Credits: Twitter)
BCCI (Image Credits: Twitter)

The idea of Women’s IPL is something that has been gathering support from many modern-day cricketers. The likes of Harmanpreet Kaur, Ben Stokes, Punam Raut, Smriti Mandhana, and Heather Knight among others have broadened their help behind the thought. 

While a fully-fledged Women’s IPL has not yet converted into a reality, the Women’s T20 Challenge was coordinated by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) close by the men’s IPL. It is the nearest thing Indian Cricket has created to IPL till now. 

History Of Women’s T20 Challenge

The very first Women’s T20 Challenge occurred in 2018 with a one-off match between IPL Trailblazers and IPL Supernovas. The two sides highlighted players from Indian and abroad.

Worldwide stars like Suzie Bates, Alyssa Healy, Danielle Wyatt, and Beth Mooney took part in the game. Supernovas dominated the match by overcoming the Trailblazers by three wickets at Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai.

Women's T20 Challenge
Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur, Mithali Raj. (Photo: Twitter)

Before long, cricketers from West Indies, South Africa, and Sri Lanka additionally joined the tournament. 

In 2019, this competition was extended, with the expansion of a team named Velocity. This title was likewise won by Supernovas, overcoming Velocity by 4 wickets in the final. In 2020, Trailblazers won their first title by overcoming Supernovas by 16 runs in the finals. 

Read More  Tamim Iqbal Reacts To Litton Das Recalling Ish Sodhi After His Dismissal In Second ODI

In the as of late closed version of the Women’s T20 challenge, Supernovas secured their third title, overcoming Velocity in the finals held at MCA Stadium in Pune. 

Also Read: I See No Reason Why Jos Buttler Needs To Retire From Test Cricket, Says Rob Key