Mumbai, Oman Cricket
Mumbai cricket team

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has delayed the Ranji Trophy 2022 knockout by two days.

On April 28, BCCI secretary Jay Shah wrote to the participating teams with detailed schedule and staging association guidelines for the knockout matches.

BCCI reschedules Ranji Trophy 2022 knockout matches

BCCI. (Photo- PTI)

Initially, the schedule mentioned that the four quarter-final matches will be played in Bengaluru from June 4 with the final slated from June 20 to 24.

According to an internal communication circulated by the BCCI to its state units, the quarter-finals will begin from June 6 and the title clash of the premier domestic event will start from June 22

Meanwhile, the two semifinals will now begin from June 14, instead of June 12, as reported by news agency PTI.

The final will be played at the M.Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru.

The group stage matches were completed ahead of the start of IPL 2022 as the BCCI decided to conduct the red-ball tournament in two phases.

Ranji Trophy. Photo- Twitter
Ranji Trophy. Photo- Twitter

Bengal, Jharkhand, Mumbai, Uttarakhand, Karnataka, Uttar Pradesh, Punjab, and Madhya Pradesh have qualified for the quarterfinals of the Ranji Trophy 2022 season.

Updated schedule for Ranji Trophy 2022 knockout stage:

Quarterfinal matches – June 6-10

Semi-final matches – June 14-18

Final – June 22 – 26

First Quarterfinal – Bengal vs Jharkhand

Second Quarterfinal – Mumbai vs Uttarakhand

Third Quarterfinal– Karnataka vs Uttar Pradesh

Fourth Quarterfinal– Punjab vs Madhya Pradesh

First Semi-Final – Winner of Q1 vs Winner of Q4

Second Semi-Final – Winner of Q2 vs Winner of Q4

The BCCI recently concluded the CK Nayudu Trophy as Mumbai U-25 emerged champions of the tournament.

Mumbai U25 defeated Vidarbha U25 in the final on April 27. Left-arm spinner Shams Mulani returned with impressive figures of 7/50 as Mumbai bundled up Vidarbha for 121.

The Senior Women’s T20 league is being conducted in Surat with the league reached the quarter-final stage. The semi-finals will be played on May 2 followed by the final on May 4.

Baroda became the first team to book its berth in the semi-final of the Senior Women’s T20 league. Baroda defeated Mumbai by seven wickets in the Quarterfinal 4.

Also Read: IPL 2022: “Give Him Exclusive Coach”: P Chidambaram’s Request To BCCI On Umran Malik