BCCI Threatening Me, Trying To Prevent Me Playing In Kashmir Premier League - Herschelle Gibbs

Published - 31 Jul 2021, 11:53 AM | Updated - 31 Jul 2021, 12:15 PM

Herschelle Gibbs
Herschelle Gibbs. Image-Getty

Table of Contents

Former South Africa opener Herschelle Gibbs has alleged the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) for “threatening” him of denying him all cricketing activities in the future in India if he participates in the upcoming Kashmir Premier League, which is set to commence on Friday, August 6 in Muzaffarabad,  Azad Kashmir, Pakistan.

Herschelle Gibbs, along with former Sri Lankan cricketer Tillakaratne Dilshan and former England spinner Monty Panesar, has been drafted among the six participating teams in the tournament.

Herschelle Gibbs
Herschelle Gibbs (Image Credit: Twitter)

The former Protea batsman took to Twitter to lambast the Indian board. He accused the BCCI of “trying to prevent me playing” in the inaugural edition of the league, which will run from August 6th to 16th, due to the political issues between India and Pakistan.

“Completely unnecessary of the @BCCI to bring their political agenda with Pakistan into the equation and trying to prevent me playing in the @kpl_20 . Also threatening me saying they won’t allow me entry into India for any cricket related work. Ludicrous,” Herschelle Gibbs tweeted.

Earlier, former Pakistan wicket-keeper Rashid Latif had also stated that the BCCI was “warning cricket boards” to not send their players in the Kashmir Premier League.

Shahid Afridi
Shahid Afridi is the brand ambassador of the league. Image Credits: Twitter

Legendary Pakistan speedster Wasim Akram is the founding vice-president while Shahid Afridi is the brand ambassador of the league. The KPL is accredited by the Pakistan Cricket Board, the Government of Azad Jammu & Kashmir, and the Government of Punjab, Pakistan.

Overseas Warriors, Muzaffarabad Tigers, Rawalakot Hawks, Bagh Stallions, Mirpur Royals, and Kotli Lions are the six teams in the inaugural season.

Renowned Pakistan players such as Imad Wasim, Mohammad Hafeez, Shahid Afridi, Shadab Khan, Shoaib Malik, and Kamran Akmal are the captains of their respective teams. Each team will have five players from Kashmir. All matches will be played at the Muzaffarabad Cricket Stadium, which can hold 18,000 spectators.

Also Read: SLC Bans Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis And Niroshan Dickwella For One Year From International Cricket, Fined 10 Million SL Rupees Each


Herschelle Gibbs Shahid Afridi The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) Tillakaratne Dilshan