Chennai Super Kings (CSK), CSK, IPL 2024 Auction,
Chennai Super Kings (Credits: Twitter)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions of IPL 2024. The franchise will eye to defend their title in IPL 2024. The team will be led by MS Dhoni in the next season too. In the last season, CSK showcased a marvelous performance in the tournament.

They won the trophy by defeating the Gujarat Titans in the final. Notably, Chennai Super Kings outplayed Gujarat Titans on their home ground at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

CSK finished in the 2nd spot in the points table during the league stage. They won 8 games and lost 5 out of 14. One match ended with no result. They earned 17 points. In the playoffs, CSK outplayed Gujarat Titans in Qualifier 1 and the final to clinch the trophy.

Also Read: Big IPL Deals Bring Additional Pressure – Chris Morris Warns Mitchell Starc, Pat Cummins

Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Shivam Dube were star performers for the team last season. Conway scored the most runs for the team, hitting 672 runs in 16 games. Gaikwad followed him with 590 runs while Shivam Dube shattered 418 runs.

Read More  Ishan Kishan, Shreyas Iyer dropped as BCCI announces central contract list for 2023-24

In the bowling department, Tushar Deshpande was the highest wicket-taker with 21 scalps in 16 games. Ravindra Jadeja was next with 20 scalps. Sri Lankan spinner Matheesha Pathirana also showed superb form, picking 19 wickets for the team.

During the IPL 2024 auction, CSK bought 6 players into their squad. Daryl Mitchell was their highest pick at Rs. 14 crore. Sameer Rizvi was another costly player at Rs. 8.40 crore. CSK also bought back their pacer Shardul Thakur for Rs. 4 crore. Mustafizur Rahman, Rachin Ravindra, and Avanish Rao Aravelly were the other three players that CSK picked during the IPL 2024 auction.

Also Read: Jharkhand’s Sumit Kumar And His Family Left Heartbroken After Delhi Capitals IPL Auction Goof-Up

The five-time champions also parted ways with 8 players from their squad ahead of IPL 2024. The men-in-yellow released popular players like Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Kyle Jamieson, and Sisanda Magala. Ambati Rayudu, who played a key role in the IPL 2023 final, has retired from all forms of IPL.

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) won their fifth IPL title last year to become the joint-most successful franchise in Indian Premier League. CSK now accounts for 5 IPL trophies; equal to that of Mumbai Indians. They are one of the consistent sides, who has reached the playoffs and final on most occasions.

Read More  Usama Mir creates history as Multan Sultans beat Lahore Qalandars in PSL 9 clash last night

CSK won the titles in the 2011, 2012, 2018, 2021, and 2023 seasons. They ended as runners-up in four seasons- 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019. They have also reached playoffs 12 seasons out of 14 seasons they have played. During the last two seasons, CSK emerged as champions in two seasons.

Also Read: After Gautam Gambhir, Vijay Dahiya Parts Ways With Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Full Schedule For IPL 2024

The schedule for IPL 2024 is yet to be announced. The tournament is expected to commence between March 23 to March 31. During the league stage, Chennai Super Kings will play a total of 14 games. Generally, the defending champions often play the opening encounter of IPL tournaments. Hence, CSK might play the opening match of the Indian Premier League 2024.

Players Bought By CSK During IPL 2024 Auction

Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Rachin Ravindra, Avanish Rao Aravelly. 

Also Read: Not MI Or CSK! Aakash Chopra Feels This Team Is Looking “Rock Solid On Paper”

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Full Squad

MS Dhoni (C), Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Shaik Rasheed, Ravindra Jadeja, Matheesha Pathirana, Ajay Mandal, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Deepak Chahar, Maheesh Theekshana, Mitchell Santner, Moeen Ali, Shivam Dube, Nishant Sindhu, Mukesh Chowdhary, Prashant Solanki, Simarjeet Singh, Tushar Deshpande, Rachin Ravindra, Shardul Thakur, Daryl Mitchell, Sameer Rizvi, Mustafizur Rahman, Avanish Rao Aravelly.

Read More  "My Father always believed..." - Tushar Deshpande dedicates stunning Ranji Trophy ton to his father

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) Captain And Vice-Captain For IPL 2024

MS Dhoni is the captain of Chennai Super Kings and will lead the team in IPL 2024 as well. Ravindra Jadeja is the vice-captain of IPL 2024. Dhoni has led the franchise since the debut season in 2008.

Also Read: Watch: Hardik Pandya Receives Grand Reception In Gujarat After Being Announced Mumbai Indians’ Captain

Chennai Super Kings Best Playing 11

CSK is highly likely to retrain Devon Conway and Ruturaj Gaikwad as openers in IPL 2024. The dup have executed a wonderful job as openers for the last few seasons. Daryl Mitchell might take up Ambati Rayudu’s role in the middle order.

Among pacers, Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur’s pair will reignite CSK’s pace attack. Below is the best playing 11 for Chennai Super Kings for IPL 2024.

CSK’s best playing 11 for IPL 2024- Devon Conway, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ajinkya Rahane, Rachin Ravindra, Shivam Dube, Daryl Mitchell, Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni (C & WK), Shardul Thakur, Matheesha Pathirana, Deepak Chahar.

Vikas Singh Derek has been working for Cricketaddictor since February 2021. He has written over 12,000 articles for Cricketaddictor. He is a sports writer and journalist with over 5 years of experience...