Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir (Image Credit: Twitter)

Former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir named his potential semi-finalist for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2021.

The 2021 World T20 will be played in the October-November window in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE) after it was shifted from India because of the scare of the COVID-19 situation in the country.

ICC T20 World Cup 2021 to start on October 23

The tournament will see 12 teams participating, with six pooled into two groups for the group stage matches, eight of the 12 teams have already qualified with the remaining four teams will make the cut-off through the qualifiers stage.

Team India is paired with arch-rivals Pakistan, Afghanistan, New Zealand and two more teams will join them soon in Group 2, while defending champions West Indies will play England, South Africa, Australia and two other teams that will enter through the qualifiers in Group 1.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar - India vs Pakistan
Bhuvneshwar Kumar. (Photo: Twitter)

South Africa and Australia will kick off with the group stage on October 23 at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium in Abu Dhabi. India will clash with Pakistan in what could be a blockbuster opener for both sides and their fans.

Gautam Gambhir picks four semi-finalists for ICC T20 World Cup 2021

Gambhir was a part of India’s 2007 World Cup-winning campaign and he played 37 T20Is with his last appearance in the tournament came in 2012 in Sri Lanka. Gambhir’s 75  was crucial for India in the final against Pakistan to lift the team’s score to 157/5.

Gautam Gambhir Names Four Potential Semi-Finalists For ICC T20 World Cup 2021
West Indies players celebrate with the T20 WC Trophy [Image-Getty]
Gambhir picked his four teams that are likely to make it through the group stage, and surprisingly, the teams Gambhir named were the semi-finalists in the 2016 ICC T20 World Cup.

“India, New Zealand, England, and West Indies will qualify,” Gambhir said about his four semi-finalist favourites on Star Sports. 

West Indies are the most successful team to lift the title twice under former captain Daren Sammy’s leadership and they will aim to defend their title. They have already hosted South Africa and Australia in a five-match T20I series at home, losing by a 3-2 margin against the Proteas but won 4-1 against Australia.

Also Read: I Don’t Think There Is Any Division On That Front In Our Team – Mohammad Rizwan Clears The Air On Favouritism