IPL 2023 MI Captain Rohit Sharma, GT Captain Hardik Pandya
IPL 2023 MI Captain Rohit Sharma, GT Captain Hardik Pandya [PC: BCCI]

Last Update on: April 25th, 2023 at 11:27 pm

Stay up-to-date with the latest teams!
Join our Telegram channel and never miss a single lineup change post-toss. 🔄📢 telegram

The 35th of the Indian Premier League 2023 saw the defending champions Gujarat Titans clash against five-time champions Mumbai Indians at the Narendra Modi, Stadium. Hardik Pandya’s team bagged a crucial 55-run win in the fixture to move up to the second spot on the points table.

Gujarat Titans brought in Shubman Gill as their impact player for the match after being asked to bat first. The batter displayed his prowess providing his team with a good platform for the innings.

IPL 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score

GT vs MI Match Report: Gujarat Titans innings: 

After losing the toss and being invited to bat first, Gujarat Titans had a tough start as Arjun Tendulkar provided the team with an early breakthrough. Hardik Pandya and Shubman Gill tried to settle the innings as the two stitched a 39 runs partnership for the second wicket. However, Piyush Chawla struck, dismissing Hardik Pandya to put an end to the partnership.

Read More  Bangladesh Squad For ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

Also Read: ICC World Cup 2023: Rishabh Pant Ruled Out Of World Cup As BCCI Expects Batter’s Recovery To Take Longer Than Expected – Reports

Shubman Gill kept the innings running for his side as he notched his half-century before being dismissed by Kumar Kartikeya at a personal score of 56 off 34 deliveries. Mumbai followed up the wicket by dismissing Vijay Shankar who was just getting started to get a tight grip on the game.

However, it was the pair of Abhinav Manohar and David Miller that rained down on Mumbai’s bowlers smashing them all around the park as the duo put up a staggering 71 runs partnership off just 37 deliveries to put their team back in the running. Rahul Tewatia provided the finishing touch scoring 20 runs off just 5 deliveries with the help of 3 sixes to help Gujarat put up 207 runs on the board at the loss of 6 wickets in their designated 20 overs.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team Chennai Super Kings (CSK) | Delhi Capitals (DC) | Gujarat Titans (GT) | Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) | Lucknow Supergiants (LSG) | Mumbai Indians (MI) | Punjab Kings (PBKS) | Rajasthan Royals (RR) | Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) | SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) 

Read More  India Squad for ICC World Cup 2023, Schedule 2023, Match List, Team List

GT vs MI Match Report: Mumbai Indians innings:

Mumbai Indians had a tough time during the chase as they lost skipper Rohit Sharma early in the innings as he was caught by Hardik Pandya off his own bowling. Gujarat were relentless with their attack as Rashid Khan struck dismissing Ishan Kishan and Tilak Varma in quick succession to put Mumbai in a tough position.

Also Read: GT vs MI: WATCH – Noor Ahmad Rips Cameron Green Stumps Clean As Mumbai Indians En Route To A Horrible Collapse

Cameron Green was starting to look good as he tried to get the innings back on track but Noor Ahmed struck with a ripper as he knocked the batter’s stumps clean to change Mumbai’s situation from bad to worse. The bowler then piled the pain on Mumbai dismissing Tim David on a duck one delivery later put Mumbai’s score on 59/5.

Noor Ahmad then returned back and dismissed Suryakumar Yadav to put an end to all resistance from the Mumbai Indians as their innings collapsed soon after with wickets tumbling one after the other. Nehal Wadhera tried to keep the innings alive but it was too late for Mumbai Indians as they had been blown out of the game by the Afghan duo of Rashid Khan and Noor Ahmad.

Read More  That's Why We Won: Virender Sehwag Recalls 'MS Dhoni's One Line' That Helped India Win 2011 World Cup

Also Read: GT vs MI: Watch – Rohit Sharma Bursts Out At Veteran Piyush Chawla After A Horrific Fielding Error

Brief Scores:

Gujarat Titans 207/6 (Shubman Gill 56, Piyush Chawla 2-34) defeat Mumbai Indians: 152/9 (Nehal Wadhera 40, Noor Ahmad 3-37) by 55 runs.

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah