Hardik Pandya To Miss Ranji Trophy 2022 For Baroda

Updated - 07 Feb 2022, 05:35 PM

Hardik Pandya, Indian Bowler
Hardik Pandya (Image Credit: Twitter)

Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya will miss the Ranji Trophy for his state team Baroda as he aims to focus on his comeback to India’s white-ball squad.

Baroda Cricket Association (BCA) named a 20-member squad for the premier domestic tournament that begins on February 10.

Hardik Pandya hasn’t played a game since T20 World Cup 2021

The Indian all-rounder hasn’t played any cricket since the T20 World Cup that concluded in November last year. The Baroda player was under scrutiny for his selection for India in the T20 World Cup 2021 as the talking point was about his fitness at that point.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya (Image Credit: Twitter)

Pandya also remained unavailable for his selection in the Vijay Hazare Trophy as he underwent rehabilitation in Mumbai.

I believe I will see Hardik Pandya play some Ranji Trophy: Sourav Ganguly

Recently, Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly said he was expecting the Indian all-rounder to play in the Ranji Trophy and bowl as well.

BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly
BCCI Chief Sourav Ganguly (Image Credit: Twitter)

“Hardik was injured and a break was given to him to completely recover, so that he can continue to serve Indian cricket for a long period of time. I believe I will see him play some Ranji Trophy to start with. I expect him to bowl a lot more overs and his body will get stronger,” Ganguly told news agency PTI.

Baroda opener Kedar Devdhar will lead the team in the Ranji Trophy, Vishnu Solanki was named Devdhar’s deputy. Hardik’s brother Krunal was also included in the 20-member squad.

Hardik was recently named the captain of the Ahmedabad franchise that will make its maiden appearance in the Indian Premier League in the next edition.

Baroda Squad for Ranji Trophy:

Kedar Dhevdhar (c), Vishnu Solanki, Pratyush Kumar, Shivalik Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Abhimanyusingh Rajput, Dhruv Patel, Mitesh Patel, Lukman Meriwala, Babashafi Pathan (wk), Atit Sheth, Bhargav Bhatt, Parth Kohli, Shashwat Rawat, Soyeb Sopariya, Kartik Kakade, Gurjindersingh Mann, Jyotsnil Singh, Ninad Rathwa, Akshay More.

Also Read: I Am Genuinely Very, Very Happy With Those Two Guys – Hardik Pandya On Ahmedabad’s Draft Picks Ahead Of The IPL 2022 Mega Auction


Hardik Pandya Ranji Trophy 2022 Sourav Ganguly