Hashmatullah Shahidi (Credits: Twitter)
Hashmatullah Shahidi (Credits: Twitter)

Hashmatullah Shahidi, a left-handed batsman, has rejoined the Afghanistan T20I team for the forthcoming five-match tour to Ireland. 

Shahidi, who last represented Afghanistan in a T20I in March 2021 in Abu Dhabi against Zimbabwe, is called back after impressive showings in the 2022 Shpageeza Cricket League, where he scored 259 runs in seven innings for the Boost Defenders side, averaging 51.80. 

Right-handed bowler Naveen ul Haq and opening batter Ibrahim Zadran were also chosen for the team. Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani are all included in the reserves along with the spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman.

Hashmatullah Shahidi
Hashmatullah Shahidi (Credits: Twitter)

Mujeeb Ur Rahman Added To The Reserve Players As His Visa Is Not Obtained

Mujeeb has been added to the reserve players because Noor Malikzai, the head selector, claims that his visa has not yet been obtained. He promised that he would be added back to the main team as soon as the issue was fixed. 

Mujeeb Ur Rahman
Mujeeb Ur Rahman (Image Credit: Twitter)

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will be held in Australia, while the 2022 Asia Cup will be held in the United Arab Emirates. According to Mir Mubariz, a member of the national selection committee, the Ireland series is crucial “in terms of our overall preparations for the mega events upfront.”

Read More  England will not be able to win the Test series now vs India claims Michael Vaughan

The five-match Twenty20 International series between Afghanistan and Ireland will take place at Stormont on August 9, 11, 12, 15 and 17. Additionally, Jonathan Trott’s tenure as Afghanistan’s new head coach will begin with the series, with Graham Thorpe significantly ill.

Mohammad Nabi Continues To Lead Afghanistan

Along with Qais and Mujeeb, other players that participated against Zimbabwe on the team include top-order batsmen Usman Ghani and seam bowler Nijat Masood. 

Aside from the 17-year-old left-arm spinner Noor Ahmad, who took 4 for 10 on his T20I debut against Zimbabwe in June, Mohammad Nabi continues to captain the team. 

Afghanistan National Cricket Team Image Source: Twitter
Afghanistan National Cricket Team Image Source: Twitter

Gulbadin Naib, a former captain of Afghanistan, was omitted from the team once more after being benched during the ODI series against Bangladesh in February. He wasn’t included in the T20I series of that tour, and since then, he hasn’t played for Afghanistan. 

T20I Squad: Mohammad Nabi (C), Afsar Zazai, Azmatullah Omarzai, Darwish Rasooli, Farid Ahmad Malik, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Hashmatullah Shahidi, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Naveen ul Haq, Noor Ahmad, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rashid Khan and Sharafuddin Ashraf. 

Reserves: Mujib ur Rahman, Nijat Masoud, Qais Ahmad, and Usman Ghani 

Also Read: WI vs IND: Match Preview – India Tour of West Indies 2022, 3rd T20I

Read More  Mohammad Hafeez defends himself after Azam Khan explodes over Pakistan Cricket's dual faced approach