Virat Kohli, Babar Azam, India, Pakistan, India vs Pakistan
Babar Azam and Virat Kohli. Credits: Twitter

India and Pakistan will get another run to carry their enthralling rivalry as the two teams have been clubbed in the Group 2 of the ICC T20 World Cup.

SA vs IND Dream11 Prediction

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced the schedule of the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup on Friday (January 21).

India vs Pakistan on October 23 in Melbourne

India will take on Pakistan in the Super 12 stage of the T20 World Cup on October 23 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). South Africa, Bangladesh and two other teams that will be determined in the qualifiers stage will be part of Group B.

India vs Pakistan, Virat Kohli, Mohammad Rizwan
India vs Pakistan. (Photo: Getty Images)

Defending champions Australia will kick-off their title defence campaign against their finalists and trans-Tasman neighbours New Zealand at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on October 22.

Australia will also play against England at MCG on October 28, while New Zealand face their 2021 T20 WC semi-finalists on November 1 in Brisbane.

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule Announced, Team India To Face Pakistan On This Date 
Kane Williamson and Aaron Finch. (Credits: Web)

The Optus Stadium in Perth will host a double header on October 30 with India and South Africa squaring off just after the game between Pakistan and the runners-up from Group A (from qualifiers).

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 qualifiers stage to begin on October 16

Sri Lanka and Namibia are grouped in Group A of the ICC T20 World Cup Qualifiers, while two-time champions West Indies will be joined by Scotland in Group B. Four additional teams will be added in the two groups.

The qualifiers stage will commence on October 16 with all the matches to be staged in Geelong and Hobart.

This edition of the T20 World Cup was initially to be held in 2020 in Australia, the tournament couldn’t progress because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Cricket Australia exchanged the hosting rights with BCCI, who staged the last edition of the T20 World Cup in Oman and the United Arab Emirates (UAE).

Australia won their maiden T20 World Cup title as they beat Kane Williamson-led New Zealand by eight wickets in the final on November 14.

Also ReadCricket Australia Revises Schedule For Sri Lanka T20I Series