IND vs AFG: "GOAT Duo Is Back" - Netizens Go Crazy After Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma Return To T20Is

Updated - 07 Jan 2024, 08:50 PM

Twitter Reacts To Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohlis T20I Return

After creating history in South Africa, the Indian cricket team selection committee has announced the 16-member squad that will take on Afghanistan in the three-match T20I series starting from January 11. The main highlight of the squad is Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli are back in the T20I side whereas Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, and Ruturaj Gaikwad have been ruled out due to injury.

Rohit Sharma will once again lead the T20I side after the 2022 T20 World Cup semi final against England whereas Virat also will be playing his first international T20I series after 13 months. The team contains the likes of young players such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rinku Singh, Arshdeep Singh, and Avesh Khan whereas senior members such as Jasprit Bumrah, KL Rahul, Mohammed Siraj, and Shreyas Iyer have been rested from the team.

These players were also not part of the T20I squad that played against South Africa one month back. The fans had been eagerly waiting for the return of Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma to the T20I side as they had been focusing on the ODIs and Tests after the 2022 T20 World Cup semi-final. India faced a horrific 10-wicket loss against England.

This is India’s last international bilateral T20I series ahead of the T20 World Cup 2024. India are scheduled to play their first T20 World Cup 2024 match against Ireland on June 5, 2024, whereas they will take on arch-rivals Pakistan on June 9. India would play the USA and Canada in their remaining two matches on June 12 and 15, 2024.

The return of Rohit Sharma to the T20I side will also give a clear picture of his availability for the 2024 T20 World Cup. India have been led by Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav in the T20I format since Rohit and Virat Kohli were away from the shortest international format.

However, this will also increase the headache of the selectors as they will now have to fit in all the star players in the T20 World Cup 2024 squad.

India are yet to win an ICC title in the last ten years whereas their last T20 World Cup trophy came in the inaugural edition of the tournament which was 2007. India showcased a dominating performance during the 2023 ODI World Cup but they lost to Australia in the final after winning 10 straight games.

India’s squad for the T20I series against Afghanistan

Rohit Sharma (C), S Gill, Y Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, W Sundar, Axar Patel, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Netizens go crazy after Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma return to T20Is

The netizens on social media were full of reactions after Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma returned to the T20Is after 13 months. Here are some of them:

Virat Kohli had been in exceptional form in the 2022 T20 World Cup and will want to repeat the same in 2024.


IND vs AFG India National Cricket Team India vs Afghanistan Rohit Sharma Virat Kohli