IND vs AUS: Heartbroken Sanju Samson Breaks Silence With Cryptic Post After Being Ignored For Australia ODIs

Published - 19 Sep 2023, 03:35 PM

Sanju Samson
Sanju Samson [PC: BCCI Twitter]

Table of Contents

Sanju Samson has posted a cryptic post after being left out of the Indian squad for the upcoming series against Australia. Team India will host Australia for a three-match ODI series ahead of the ICC World Cup 2023. The series is scheduled to be played from September 22.

After the triumph in Asia Cup 2023, India have made a number of changes to the team for the first two games. Captain Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, and Hardik Pandya have been rested for the first two ODIs. In Rohit Sharma’s absence, wicketkeeper-batsman KL Rahul will be leading the Indian team.

Sanju Samson would have expected to earn a recall in the absence of the key players. However, the Ajit Agarkar-led selection has decided against it. The Indian selection panel has recalled Ruturaj Gaikwad and given young Tilak Varma another chance in the ODIs.

Sanju Samson reacts:

Both Gaikwad and Varma will not be part of the Indian squad for the third ODI. The latest event is yet another setback for Sanju Samson who has failed to cement his spot in the Indian team in any of the three formats despite making his debut way back in 2015.

The right-handed batsman has rarely got an extended rope from the team management and the selectors to prove himself. The latest snub might be a big indication that the selectors have decided to move on from Sanju Samson. With a number of talented youngsters such as Varma, Gaikwad, and Rinku Singh waiting in the wings, it would not be very surprising if Sanju Samson does not play for India any time soon.

And the batsman perhaps realizes it. Soon after the squad was announced, he took to his Facebook profile to post a cryptic message. Without writing anything, the Kerala star just posted a smiley, making it clear that he is heartbroken with the latest setback.


India squad for first two ODIs: KL Rahul (captain), Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, R Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, J Bumrah, M Siraj, M Shami, Tilak Varma, Prasidh Krishna, R Ashwin, Washington Sundar

India squad for 3rd ODI: Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, R Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, J Bumrah, M Siraj, M Shami, Hardik Pandya, Virat Kohli, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel (subject to fitness), R Ashwin, Washington Sundar


IND vs AUS 2023 India National Cricket Team Sanju Samson