IND vs PAK: Watch - Nonchalant Shaheen Afridi Walks Past Injured Rahmanullah Gurbaz At The End Of Pakistan's Innings In AFG vs PAK 3rd ODI

Published - 27 Aug 2023, 06:12 PM

Shaheen Afridi and Rahmanullah Gurbaz
Shaheen Afridi and Rahmanullah Gurbaz (Image Credits: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Team defeated the Afghanistan Cricket Team by 59 runs in the final ODI of the three-match series in Colombo on Saturday, August 26. The Babar Azam-led team achieved victory in the dead rubber match, completing the whitewash against Afghanistan.

The Men in Green put up a total of 268 runs at the R. Premadasa Stadium in Sri Lanka. Babar Azam (60) and Mohammad Rizwan (67) shone with half-centuries to help the team reach a competitive total. Openers Fakhar Zaman and Imam-ul-Haq were dismissed for low scores.

Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan formed a crucial 110-run partnership for the third wicket. However, the team lost wickets at regular intervals towards the end of the innings. Salman Agha (38) and Mohammad Nawaz (30) contributed to the team’s effort to achieve a good total.

Watch – Shaheen Afridi Walks Past Injured Rahmanullah Gurbaz

The incident took place in the final over of Pakistan’s innings. Shaheen Shah Afridi came to bat when the score was 266-8 with one ball to spare. Shaheen played a shot to deep midwicket off Fareed Ahmed. He and Salman considered taking a third run but eventually decided against it.

Afghanistan’s wicketkeeper Rahmanullah Gurbaz injured himself while attempting to catch a ball. Gurbaz stretched his right leg too much, leading to a muscle strain. He sat on the ground in discomfort. Afridi ignored him and nonchalantly walked past him towards the pavilion.

Pakistan Squad For Asia Cup 2023

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) included Saud Shakeel in their 17-member squad for the upcoming Asia Cup 2023. Earlier, Saud was named in the squad as a traveling reserve. Team management decided to pick him for the continental tournament in place of Tayyab Tahir.

Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (vice-captain), Abdullah Shafique, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Haris (wk), Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Salman Ali Agha, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Afridi and Usama Mir

Traveling reserve: Tayyab Tahir

Also read: IND vs PAK: Babar Azam Apologises For Mistakenly Mentioning Saud Shakeel’s ODI Debut During Toss


Afghanistan National Cricket Team Asia Cup 2023 IND vs PAK 2023 India vs Pakistan 2023 Pakistan national cricket team Rahmanullah Gurbaz Shaheen Afridi