Sourav Ganguly
Photo Credit: (BCCI)

Last Update on: July 8th, 2023 at 02:21 pm

Former BCCI President and Indian captain Sourav Ganguly is celebrating his 51st birthday on July 8. The former Indian skipper who retired from international cricket in 2008 recently completed his term as the BCCI President and did some valuable work in the meantime. Former Indian cricketer Roger Binny succeeded him in the post.

Ganguly after serving his time as the BCCI President joined Delhi Capitals as the Director of Cricket. He worked closely with the likes of Ricky Ponting and Ajit Agarkar. Agarkar eventually became the new Chairman of Selector with Ganguly forwarding him his best wishes.

Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023

The BCCI selection committee under Ajit Agarkar named the Indian T20I squad for the West Indies series, a day after Agarkar’s selection as the new chief of the selection committee. He will head the panel along with other members namely, Shiv Sundar Das, Salil Ankola, Subroto Bannerjee, and Sridharan Sharath.

Also Read: Hardik Pandya To Be Removed From T20I Captaincy After West Indies Tour; New Captain To Take Charge In T20Is

They named a 15-member Indian T20I squad including new faces like Tilak Varma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Mukesh Kumar. While these players were added to the squad, names like Rinku Singh, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and Jitesh Sharma were snubbed from the squad.

IND vs AUS 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs AFG 2023 | IND vs WI 2023 | Asia Cup 2023 | ICC World Cup 2023 

Gaikwad is included in India’s Test and ODI squads which were announced earlier. However, in the presence of Rohit Sharma and Shubman Gill as designated openers, it will be interesting to see whether he gets his chance as an opener. Jaiswal is primed to replace Cheteshwar Pujara at number three.

Rinku Singh’s omission from the T20I squad made a lot of noise within the Indian cricket fraternity. The Southpaw scored 474 runs in 14 matches for KKR in IPL 2023 at an average of 59.25. Everyone expected him to be named for the West Indies series and his omission came as a big surprise.

Also Read: IND vs WI: Rinku Singh’s Teammate Nitish Rana Slams Ajit Agarkar & Co. With Cryptic Post After Being Snubbed For West Indies T20Is

They Need To Keep Playing: Sourav Ganguly On Snubbed Indian Players

Ganguly while talking to Rev Sportz, said that all of these players will need to keep performing and wait for their chance for a call-up.

“They just have to keep playing. They will have to keep performing in whatever chances they get. It happens all the time. Only 15 can be picked in the squad, and 11 can play. So, somebody has to miss out. I am pretty sure their time will come” Ganguly concluded saying.

India’s 15-Member T20I Squad For West Indies Named By The Ajit Agarkar-Led Selection Panel

Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

Also Read: IND vs WI: “Rinku Singh’s Time Will..”- Ajit Agarkar’s Former Teammate Gives Massive Statement After Rinku Singh Snub From IND vs WI T20 Squad

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah

Anshuman Roy Author Profile

Anshuman Roy is an author at Cricketaddictor. He has been working with the organization since January 2022 and he has written more than 5000 articles for the website.