Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma, (Image Credits: Twitter)

Last Update on: October 31st, 2022 at 07:20 pm

Indian Cricket Team is all set to lock horns against Bangladesh in ODI Series starting from 04th December. The Men in Blue are going to play a 3-match ODI Series at Dhaka. This ODI Series is pivotal for both teams as it would serve as a preparation for the marquee ICC Cricket World Cup 2023.

This ODI Series is not a part of World Super League Points. Bangladesh is in 4th position in the standings with 120 points with 12 matches. India, though would not be concerned with the World Super League Points as they have automatically qualified for the tournament as they are the hosts.

Bangladesh National Cricket Team
Bangladesh National Cricket Team. Image Credits: Twitter

Rohit Sharma Set To Lead

BCCI has named the skipper Rohit Sharma in the squad against Bangladesh. The right-handed batter would be looking to be amongst the runs. BCCI surprisingly has named Shikhar Dhawan and KL Rahul in the squad and it would be quite interesting to see which batter would open the innings with Rohit.

Rohit Sharma (PC-Getty Images)
Rohit Sharma (PC-Getty Images)

Chance for Youngsters to Shine

BCCI has included the dashing Rahul Tripathi in the squad and along with him, there’s the speedster, Yash Dayal, too. It looks like the chairman selection has decided to give the youngsters a chance on the big stage. India would be well aware of the fact that they cannot take Bangladesh lightly as they have got a surprise element present.

Ishan Kishan
Ishan Kishan Pic Credit- BCCI

The inclusion of Ishan Kishan in the squad means that the BCCI is looking for a scintillating batter in the middle order. He recently had a very good ODI Series against South Africa where his aggressive mindset stunned the Proteas. It would be interesting to see who makes the playing 11 as there is a lot of competition.

India ODI Squad For Bangladesh Tour:

Rohit Sharma (C), KL Rahul (vc), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Rajat Patidar, Shreyas Iyer, Rahul Tripathi, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed. Shami, Mohammed. Siraj, Deepak Chahar, Yash Dayal