Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders (Image Credit: Twitter)

Kolkata Knight Riders bought 8 players in IPL 2021 auction, out of which there were five domestic players and 3 overseas players. KKR had an available salary cap of Rs. 10.75 crore and the franchise spent Rs. 7.3 crore to purchase these 8 players. Kolkata Knight Riders is the third most successful franchise in the Indian Premier Leagues. The team has won IPL trophies two times in 2012 and 2014 and follows Chennai Super Kings with three IPL titles and Mumbai Indians with 5 IPL titles.

Shakib-al-Hasan became Kolkata Knight Riders’ costliest buy after the franchises bought him for Rs. 3.2 crore. The Bangladesh all-rounder was part of KKR in IPL 2012 and IPL 2014- the seasons in which Kolkata Knight Riders lifted the IPL trophies. KKR also bought Harbhajan Singh at his base price of Rs. 2 crore. Ben Cutting, at his base price Rs. 75 lakh, became another new member of Kolkata Knight Riders.

Shakib-Al-Hasan (Image Credit: Twitter)

Ahead of IPL 2021 auction, KKR decided to part ways with six players namely- Chris Green, Harry Gurney, M Siddharth, Nikhil Naik, Siddhesh Lad and Tom Banton. Moreover, Eoin Morgan, Andre Russell, Dinesh Karthik, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Kuldeep Yadav, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, Sandeep Warrier, Shivam Mavi, Shubman Gill, Sunil Narine, Pat Cummins, Rahul Tripathi, Varun Chakravarthy and Tim Seifert were the 17 players which the franchise retained in their squad. After IPL 2021 auction, Kolkata Knight Riders have filled all the eight spots available in the squad.

Kolkata Knight Riders
Kolkata Knight Riders (Image Credit: Twitter)

Here is the full list of players bought by Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL auction 2021.

  • Shakib Al Hasan (All-Rounder)- Rs. 3.2 crore
  • Harbhajan Singh (Bowler)- Rs. 2 crore
  • Ben Cutting (All-Rounder)- Rs. 75 lakh
  • Karun Nair (Batsman)- Rs. 50 lakh 
  • Pawan Negi (All-Rounder)- Rs. 50 lakh     
  • Venkatesh Iyer (All-Rounder)- Rs. 20 lakh
  • Sheldon Jackson (Wicket-Keeper)- Rs. 20 lakh
  • Vaibhav Arora (Bowler)- Rs. 20 lakh