Pragyan Ojha
Image Source: Twitter
Prev1 of 14

Although cricket is regarded as a batsman’s game and has seemingly skewed more and more in their favour in recent times, the value of having great bowlers in your team’s armoury cannot be understated. Although T20 cricket is the most unforgiving of all three formats of the game for the bowlers, the Indian Premier League has seen some truly special bowling performances over the years.

These bowlers’ efforts are recognised by the IPL in the form of the Purple Cap, which is awarded to the bowler who finishes each season with the most wickets in the tournament. So, with the latest edition of the tournament set to start soon and a new name ready to be added to the list, here’s the complete list of Purple Cap winners in the tournament history of the IPL till now.

IPL 2022: Complete List Of Purple Cap Winners In The Tournament History

  1. 2008 – Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan Royals, 22 wickets)

Sohail Tanvir
Sohail Tanvir (Image Credit: Twitter)

The inaugural IPL title was claimed by the unheralded Rajasthan Royals, a team full of unlikely heroes, of which none was more unlikely than Sohail Tanvir. The left-arm pacer from Pakistan is noted for his unconventional bowling action, which involves him delivering the ball off the wrong foot, something that batsmen all over the world have been unable to completely master.

Tanvir’s action certainly gave the Royals a lot of joy, as his 22 wickets in 11 matches, taken at an average of 12.09 and a strike rate of 11.22, led his side to the title. This included a mesmerizing spell of bowling against the Chennai Super Kings in which Tanvir ended up with figures of 6/14, which were the best bowling figures in the tournament until 2019 when Alzarri Joseph claimed 6/12 on his IPL debut in 2019.

Read More  Virat Kohli or Sachin Tendulkar? Indian diplomat reveals Imran Khan's choice
Prev1 of 14