Lanka Premier League (LPL),
Lanka Premier League (LPL).

Lanka Premier League is starting to gain some good news as more and more players register for the player’s draft, and there could be some big entertainment coming up at the end of the year. The previous edition saw five teams taking part, and 23 games were played overall. Jaffna Stallions emerged as the title winners of the maiden season.

The 2021 season of Lanka Premier League was expected to take place in the month of July-August, but due to the non-availability of foreign players, the tournament had to be postponed. The tournament will now start on December 4 with 23 games overall, and all the games will take place in the Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium in Hambantota.

LPL 2020
Jaffna Stallions, Thisara Perera (Photo by STR/AFP via Getty Images)

Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan Among The Names Registered

Few of the top T20 stars signed up for the previous edition of the Lanka Premier league through the draft but pulled out of the tournament due to the tight schedule. However, this time the number has gone up massively, and the big names in the T20 circuit like Andre Rusell, Chris Gayle, Dawid Malan, Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik have all registered for the draft.

Their participation still will be decided only after the draft, and it will take place on October 29. A lot of youngsters made a mark through this tournament last year, and Sri Lanka is a country where cricketing talents have always emerged successfully. This will be a massive boost to their rebuilding of the game in the country.

LPL 2020
LPL final 2020[photo: Twitter]

Dambulla And Jaffna Have New Owners

Colombo Kings, Dambulla Vikings, and Jaffna Stallions have all been terminated this year due to financial issues. Dambulla has new owners with the team renamed as Dambulla Giants, and Jaffna has been renamed as Jaffna Kings. Former Indian cricketers including Irfan Pathan, Munaf Patel, and Manpreet Gony were among the few names that played in LPL 2020.

Lanka Premier League
Irfan Pathan in Lanka Premier League. (Photo: Twitter)

LPL 2021 will see each team playing 8 games in the league stages, and this will be 3 knockout games, with the finals to be held on December 23.

Also Read – Lanka Premier League 2021 To Start From December 4: Sri Lanka Cricket