Fakhar Zaman, Quinton de Kock, Pakistan, South Africa
Fakhar Zaman's run-out moment (Image Credit: Twitter)

The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has revealed its take on the controversial run-out dismissal that took place during the second ODI between Pakistan and South Africa in Johannesburg. The batsman in question was Fakhar Zaman, who departed for a marvelous 155-ball 193 as he marshalled the 342-run-chase single-handedly. MCC stated that it was up to the umpires to decide whether Quinton De Kock intentionally distracted the 30-year old while running.

Needing an improbable 31 off the final over, Fakhar Zaman decided to take two runs in the first ball to keep the strike. As he clattered the ball to long-off and began running but slowed down while nearing the striker’s end to concentrate on whether Haris Rauf made it to the other since Quinton De Kock gestured that the ball was headed towards the non-striker’s. As a result, Aiden Markram’s direct hit at the striker’s end had Zaman well short of the crease.

Fakhar Zaman, Quinton de Kock
Fakhar Zaman and Quinton de Kock (Image Credit: Twitter)

Later, MCC’s Twitter handle posted the law relating to the dismissal about a fielder willingly attempting to distract, deceive, or obstructing either batsman. However, it did not conclude whether Quinton De Kock was guilty and allowed the umpires to decide if there was any such try. The association further declared that if that is the case, then the fielding side should have a five-run penalty.

Fakhar Zaman and Temba Bavuma defend Quinton De Kock’s move:

Temba Bavuma
Temba Bavuma (Image Credit: Twitter)

In contrast to polarising opinions in the cricketing fraternity, Fakhar Zaman, whose unforgettable knock ended in Pakistan’s 17-run loss opined that it was his fault not to pay attention towards his end as he got too busy, concentrating on whether Haris Rauf reached successfully to the other end. He left the final decision to the match referee and asserted it was not De Kock’s fault.

On the other hand, South Africa captain Temba Bavuma claimed in the post-match press conference that it was a clever trick and broke no rules whatsoever. With the three-match ODI series levelled, Pakistan and South Africa will meet the Centurion for the final game on Wednesday.

Also Read: Shahrukh Khan Reminds Me Of Kieron Pollard: Punjab Kings’ Coach Anil Kumble