New Zealand Squad For T20 World Cup 2021 And India Series Announced
New Zealand Squad For T20 World Cup 2021 And India Series Announced. Image Credits: Twitter

New Zealand selectors have locked its World T20 squad set to take place later this year in the UAE. The T20 World Cup was to occur in India; however, the BCCI moved it to the UAE along with the second leg of IPL 2021 due to the COVID-19 threat. Along with its T20 World Cup squad, New Zealand has also announced the team for the white-ball fixtures in Bangladesh and Pakistan.

Veteran batsman Ross Taylor has not made it to the T20 World Cup squad, while all-rounder Colin de Grandhomme also suffered the same fate. All other players, including Kyle Jamieson, Kane Williamson, Devon Conway, Martin Guptill, have made it to the squad. Right-arm seamer Adam Milne has also received the nod, named as an injury cover.

Ross Taylor, International Cricket
Ross Taylor (Image Credit: Twitter)

The same 15 men will also play a T20 series against India before the T20 World Cup. New Zealand’s four-month Asian sojourn will commence with the five-match T20I series against Bangladesh, with the team set to depart on the 23rd of August. But the Kiwis picked a separate squad for the same and the Pakistan tour, where Tom Latham will lead. Greg Pocknall will travel with them as the head coach for their Bangladesh and Pakistan tours, while bowling coach Shane Jurgensen will join later ahead of the Pakistan T20 series.

New Zealand Lock Their T20 World Cup Squad; Announce Their Teams For The Limited-Overs Fixtures Against Bangladesh, Pakistan, And India As Well

Kane Williamson to lead New Zealand in the T20 World Cup:

Kane Williamson
Kane Williamson (Image Credit: Twitter)

New Zealand T20 World Cup squad: Kane Williamson (c), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (wk), Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee.

Squad for Bangladesh T20Is and Pakistan ODIs: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Doug Bracewell, Colin de Grandhomme, Jacob Duffy, Matt Henry (ODI only), Scott Kuggeleijn, Cole McConchie, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Rachin Ravindra, Ben Sears (T20 only), Blair Tickner, Will Young

Squad for Pakistan T20Is: Tom Latham (c/wk), Finn Allen, Todd Astle, Hamish Bennett, Tom Blundell (wk), Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Daryl Mitchell, Ajaz Patel, Ish Sodhi, Ben Sears, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Also Read: Shaun Tait Named As Afghanistan’s Bowling Coach With Immediate Effect